The Lord’s Prayer (Prayed). Day Nine.

Welcome, to today’s post. Today we look at the phrase, ‘Lead us not in to temptation, but deliver us from evil’. The Amplified Bible translates it ‘Bring us not in to temptation, but deliver (rescue) us from the evil one’

This is Divine Protection. I like to see this verse alongside Psalm 23! Imagine if a sheep could talk, it would say to the Shepherd, “please lead me away from danger today, Keep me away from poisonous  plants, polluted water and dangerous predators”.That’s basically what Jesus is teaching us to do, and don’t forget, He went through it before us!

God never leads us in to temptation, nor does He tempt us! What this literally means is, ‘help me refrain from doing harmful things; give me the strength to overcome’. it is we, ourselves who get in to difficulties, or the Devil tempts us, but we still have the choice to resist and stand strong! James makes this very clear in James 1:13-14. ‘Let no one say when he is tempted, I am tempted from God; for God is incapable of being tempted by [what is] evil and He Himself tempts no one. But every person is tempted when he is drawn away, enticed and baited by his own evil desire, [lust, passions]. (Amplified Bible).

When Jesus was tempted He was led by the Spirit to be tempted in the wilderness, but the Holy Spirit was not the instrument of temptation, the Devil was! However Jesus wonderfully overcame every temptation and resisted to the end, saying- ‘it is written’, three times! So He is our example to follow.

There are 3 main sources of temptation

  1. Within ourselves, [our hearts lusts and evil desires]
  2. Outside ourselves spiritually [through the devil]
  3. From the physical world and its driven lusts and passions.

This is summed up in 1John2:16 ‘For all that is in the world, the lusts of the flesh (craving for sensual gratification), and the lust of the eyes (greedy longings of the mind) and the pride of life (assurance in ones own resources or in the stability of earthly things)’. Amplified Bible.

I link this in with the Jabez prayer, ‘keep me from harm and harming others’. That’s Divine Protection.

Join me now in PRAYER. Abba, dear holy and loving Father God. You are the Creator of all that is good and right. Thank you that you work all things for good to those who love you. Thank you that even trouble and temptation can work for our good as we resist it and stand firm. This in turn strengthens us for the bigger battles ahead. Lead me and all those I love and all who read this post in to fresh green, verdant pastures and away from evil and the evil one. Thank you Lord in Jesus’ name. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Lord’s Prayer (Prayed). Day Nine.

Leave a Reply

