A.S.K. Day. Three.

Good day to you all. Hope these posts are helping you? Let us continue with ASK.

Jesus said, “the harvest is plentiful but the workers are few. Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers in to His harvest” Matthew 9:37-38

 Firstly. Jesus wants us to see what He sees, a great harvest of souls. Children, teens, adults. He sees the potential; He wants us to reach out to those who are potentially the Lord’s, so that He may bring out their potential for Himself.

Secondly. Jesus identified the problem! They were lost, like sheep without a shepherd, so He became the solution to their problem. There was nothing but bad news, so He became the good news, there was sickness and death, so He brought healing and life, there was darkness, and so He brought light. There was chaos, so He brought order.

Thirdly. He delegated responsibility. Jesus was limited in His humanity to temporal time and geography. In His flesh He couldn’t reach every one in every place at every time, so He delegates the mission to His followers.

Fourthly, He wants us to be specific in our asking. In Farming you wouldn’t use a cherry picker to harvest potatoes and visa versa.  Neither would you use a combine harvester to gather grapes. Just as  farming is “job-person specific”, so too, we 0urselves need to ask God for the right people for the right jobs! If you need musicians, pray for what you need. If you need a pastor, ask for someone who is a pastor at heart, not just for someone to fill a space.

Lastly. I love the opening of Matthew Chapter 10, Jesus calls His disciples to Himself, and renames them Apostles. I just get this picture of the disciples praying for harvesters and workers; then in no time it seems, Jesus is answering their prayer and saying, “you go”. I think they became the answer to their own prayer, and guess what?  Well, you go figure it out!

TO DO Think about the needs around you! We need Christian teachers for our schools. We need Christians in politics. You may need Workers in your church. The list goes on, so make a list and ASK!

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in A.S.K. and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A.S.K. Day. Three.

  1. wonderboy57 says:

    I was looking forward to a concluding prayer, my friend. Perhaps tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

