A.S.K. Day Eight.

Your father knows what you need before you ask him” Matthew 6:8

That begs the question then, ‘why bother to ask in the first place?’ He knows what we need so why doesn’t he just send it to us? Why all the palaver of asking and asking and waiting and expecting when we’re going to get it any way?’

My own understanding of this is that firstly our asking keeps things in perspective, God is supreme, He’s in control and He knows what’s best for us. It’s called keeping us humbled before the awesome God and not being over familiar with him! It keeps us from being spoiled children and it keeps us reverent. Let’s be absolutely honest, if we didn’t need to pray to God we would spend little time with Him! For the most part, our quiet time is probably spent in asking for what we need. Without the need to pray, we would rarely seek him, be devoted to him, and we would rarely get on our knees before Him. So asking is one-way God keeps us plugged in and switched on to him.

Secondly, it keeps in perspective who the giver is and who the receiver is. It reminds us that the gift giver is greater than the gift received or the one who receives it.

Thirdly from what I understand from scripture, that which is in heaven and is the will of God, has to be earthed through believing prayer. This is too big a subject to look at here, so it may be worth your while doing a study of it yourself. Hence in the Lord’s Prayer we pray “your will be done on earth as in heaven”. So, what are your needs? The needs of your family, friends, and church? I like to daily write out my prayers in a log form so I don’t get distracted and I have a record of prayers prayed and answered. Here’s a sample from my prayer diary. Try it out yourself

Date of prayer Item prayed Answer to prayer Date of answer
12/12/2009 Lord I need more work in the new year. Three weeks work come in for January. Thank you Lord 3/1/2010
1/1/2010 Health needs in the family. Father in heaven please heal them in Jesus’ name…! Feeling much better. Thank you for answering so swiftly Lord God. 4/1/2010
2/1/2011 Car in to garage for test. Lord please let it get through ok as money’s a bit tight after Christmas Passed test with little to be done. Thank you Lord. Amen 10/1/2011

Lastly, always remember to “trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding, but in all your ways acknowledge Him and he will direct your paths” Proverbs 3:5-6.

Gracious Father. To me prayer is an enigma. I know I need to pray, I want to pray, yet at times, it feels so hard to pray. I know that you already know what I need because you know the end from the begining; so, I sometimes question the need to pray, especially when I am so busy! And there IS the crux of the whole thing! I am busy, and so much so that I need to pray so that I can find the calm in the storm, the order in the chaos, the sanity in the madness of this world, the light in our dark generation. Father, in the phrase coined by Bill Heybels, ‘too busy not to pray!’ That truly is the case for me, I am so busy, I have to pray! And therefore, I will keep on keeping on praying. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

