A.S.K. Day Eighteen.

James 4:2  ‘You do not have because you do not ask God’. I suppose it begs the question then ‘who do you ask, if not God?’ I guess if you are like me, you may ask your bank manager, or family member, or a friend to lend you something or money to get something? I guess there’s nothing wrong with that, but if my son wanted something, and asked everyone else before me, and then I became his last resort, I think I would feel a bit hurt! No, a lot hurt! How do I think God feels when I leave Him out of the equation till I’m desperate enough to remember Him? Thankfully now, I have established a good daily quiet time and prayer journal with the Lord and have now cultivated the habit of going to the Lord first and not as a last resort!

 

So, we all need to cultivate the habit of going first to God, and if I can’t persuade you then at least listen to the one who loved you so much that He gave His life for you! ‘ But seek first His Kingdom and His righteousness and all these things shall be added unto you as well’. Matthew 6:33. Another reason we may not receive from the Lord is because we live in an instant world! I think of those words of a popular dance song from the 90s, ‘I know what I want and I want it now’. The world may live and think like that, but God does not work in our limited time spans, but in accordance to His will and purpose. So if you have asked for something and haven’t received it, first check your motives, then check the timing, then check your expectations and faith level, then check your importunity, (persistence).

TO DO

Write a letter to God. Keep it short, and keep it specific, may be using a mnemonic will help you. Here again is the one I have developed myself. I call it TAP! As I want to tap into God’s power and purposes for that day!

DEAR GOD

Thanks. Thank you heavenly Father for your love grace and mercy to me. For this new day ahead of me, I ask for your provision and purposes to be fulfilled in my life. Help me to be blessed and be a blessing to others this day. Keep me safe and protect me so that at the end of the day I will be able to thank you for all you have done for me this day. (Sit and count all of your blessings from the lord and thank Him for them) Thank you Jesus, amen.

 

 

Acknowledge. Father in heaven, I acknowledge you this day and acknowledge, my need and dependence upon you for all I need. I acknowledge my weaknesses, but also that your grace is sufficient in all my weaknesses. I acknowledge I am a sinful man and so I ask your forgiveness for all my wrongs in Jesus name. (Name your sins to the Lord and receive his forgiveness).

 

Prayer. Simply list your needs before the Lord. It’s good to date the day you prayed the prayer and when it was answered, it then becomes a testimony of God’s past goodness. For example:

PRAYER 12.03 2011 Father in heaven, my work is running low again, would you please help me get some more. I receive it now in faith and with thanks.  ANSWER April 2011 I now have 4-5 days work each week. Thank you Lord. Amen.

 

 

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A.S.K. Day Eighteen.

  1. A.R.J. Nock says:

    Hi John, hope you are well?
    Great post today. I will be more up-front with God in future.

Leave a Reply

