A.S.K. Day Twenty Five.

Matthew 21:22

If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer’

We continue to look at Matthew 21:23. ‘If you believe!” and as we have already seen it sounds simple enough, I mean, how hard is to believe? But that is one big ”IF”. Look through the Bible and check out the “ifs”. Even some of the big hero’s of the bible stumbled on this point; and so do I at times, and I guess if you are honest you do too? But let’s go a step further and ask ourselves what is belief? I mean we struggle with it, so let’s see why? Firstly to help me get the basics of belief I came up with an acrostic for the word!

Being Established, Living In Expectant Faith. Now for me the key word is “Established”. It’s as we become more and more established and grounded in God and in His word that our faith and therefore our belief system develops, because faith comes from hearing the word of God! It’s being established and firm in belief that God is who He say’s He is and that he can do what He say’s He can and will do it. It’s established belief that you and I are God’s children, and that He loves us and will hear us when we pray, and especially as we pray His word and promises by faith and that He will meet all our needs

Where do we get our belief system? Well in life we get it from established facts. For example, we believe the earth orbits the sun! We get that belief from established scientific fact. Our children for a time believe wholeheartedly in Father Christmas, why? Because we as parents tell them he is real and they believe us. We believe history, why? Because there is established, verified, documented facts and recorded material stating things were so! So for us as God’s children we can only go to the word of God, the whole Bible for our belief system. John the apostle said in chapter 20:31 of his gospel; “these are written that you may believe”.

From this then, we see why our belief system suffers at times, it’s because generally we don’t spend a good deal of time in the bible, and probably even less time getting it in to us! Jesus said “if my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given to you”. John 15:7. So, what can we do? Well, I think a good place to start is Psalm 1! May I suggest you read it prayerfully, think deeply about what you read, and then pray about it, it’s only a short psalm so have a go at memorizing it! I use flash cards to help me. Give it a go and then make it an established habit.

PRAYER. Father God. I do believe, but I need to have a greater established belief, grounded and rooted in your word and promises. He;p me to spend more time in your word and get more of your word in to me, so that my belief system will be stronger. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

 

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A.S.K. Day Twenty Five.

Leave a Reply

