A.S.K. Day Twenty Nine.

Mark 10:35 “Teacher they said we want you to do whatever we ask”. Yesterday we looked at the request of James and John that Jesus had to deny them. Now if you go down a verse or two to verse 38, Jesus asks them a question, ‘can you drink the cup I drink, or be baptised with the baptism I am baptised with?’  In other words, for them to sit one at either side of the Father, they would have to experience what Christ experienced, and that they could not, only Jesus Christ could bear the sins of the whole world and take upon Himself the full wrath of God! And that is why only Jesus sits at the Father’s right hand and no one else! However, the truth is we will be as close to the Father as Christ is one day, because we are seated in Him in heavenly places at the right hand of God. However, He is here asking them whether they can carry their own cross, and suffer martyrdom for Him. They said they could, and truth is they later would, and this truth is also for some of us, some of our answered prayers may bring us persecution and suffering. James was beheaded and John banished to Patmos. But their request was still denied, though their gutsy prayer request is to be admired and their boldness emulated by us, though asking for the right things

This lesson is a pointed one, be careful what you ask for, you may just get it and it may not be what you expected!  However, though we may not understand it, God always gives us what we need, though it may not always be what we want.

PRAYER Heavenly Father God, I am so thankful that I am heaven bound in Christ and seated in Him at the right hand of the Father. If I do ask for things that are inappropriate or unacceptable to you and you don’t answer them, please help me to understand it is because you know best, and help me not to get a strop about it. Forgive me for the times I have asked for things I should not have asked for, for whatever reason, and forgive me for the times I have got moody and upset because I didn’t get what I asked for. You do know what’s best for me, so help me accept that and move on. I ask this in Jesus’ name amen.

 

 

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

