A.S.K. Day Thirty one.

Luke 11:11-13 we’ve arrived! Hey Hey! This is the last day of ASK. I hope you have enjoyed reading and practicing these principles as I have in preparing them?

We need to observe two phrases in Luke 11 and Matt 7, both of which I have hinted to in an earlier chapter. In Matt 7 we have ‘good gifts’, and in Luke 11 we have ‘The Holy Spirit’, why the different emphasis on the same subject? For myself I believe it is to do with the different backgrounds and emphases of the writers! Remember, though the Holy Spirit is the author of scripture, He uses backgrounds, personality and the differing slants of the writers, for writers they were not robots!

Matthew was a Jewish tax collector. He was meticulous with details especially regarding Jewish history and the Kingdom of God. He wrote specifically to Jews who were awaiting the Kingdom of God and their Messiah, and set out to prove that Jesus was the long awaited Messiah. A large portion of Matthews testimony of Jesus’ teaching was through His parables, and especially the ones that taught Jesus  ‘the King of the Kingdom’ would go away on a long journey and leave His servants to continue His work till He returned. He would leave them with talents (gifts) to invest in His Kingdom’s expansion till He returned. And so, I believe, Matthew emphasised the Gifts to be asked for and used in the Kingdom work.

Luke however was not a Jew and the only Gentile New Testament writer. He emphasises the Holy Spirit, or as I like to interpret it, the gift giver! Luke was a Doctor and his emphasis was on Christ’s humanity. He reminds us that, though Jesus was very God, yet, He was still flesh and blood and subject to natural laws by His own free will. Though Jesus was conceived by the Holy Spirit, yet when He came up out of the waters of baptism, was filled with the Holy Spirit, led in to the wilderness to be tempted and came out 40 days later empowered by the Holy Spirit. This was a defining point in time, for it seems that up to this point that Jesus did no wondrous things until He was filled with the Spirit and therefore, if Jesus needed empowerment from Holy Spirit, how much more us! For me it seems that both emphases are important and valid, but for us, ‘flesh and blood disciples of Christ’, we are reminded by Luke that the Gift giver is far more important than the gifts given, and that no matter how talented we may be, without Holy Spirit, we are nothing!

Father God. Thank you for Holy Spirit. Without Him we would not be born again for He is the Spirit of adoption. Without Him we would not pray effectively or live effective Christian lives. So I thank you for Holy Spirit and ask you for more of Him in Jesus’ name. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

