Musings and Meditations 2.

AT THE SMELTERS CRUCIBLE.

In my previous post I spoke about the ingredients of life, and God’s receipe’s for succcess, and how to reconcile the good and bad we suffer sometimes. The Bible often talks about fiery trials and the fires of testing to purify us. Malachi 3:3 ‘He will sit as a refiner and purifier of silver, and He will purify the priests…and refine them like gold and silver, that they may offer to the Lord sacrifices in righteousness’.

I’m no expert on smelting and refining gold and silver, but what I have gleaned is very interesting. In days gone by the refiner fired the raw materials of gold ore, as the materials got hotter, the heavy gold sank and the dross rose to the top. The smelter then scooped off the dross and sat and looked in to the crucible, if he was not satisfied with what he saw, he turned up the heat. More dross would rise and the smelter would scoop it off. The smelter was only satisfied when he saw his reflection on the surface of the gold!

Wow, what an image of God working in our lives! I don’t know about you, but I’ve still got plenty impurities in my life that distort the image of Christ in me! I also recognise that the only way they’ll go is if Father God keeps the heat on and turns it up as and when neccessary! I don’t like it one bit, but neither do I like some of the stuff in me! But I know it’s for the best when the Lord executes this process in me. How else will I know what is in me that distorts God’s reflection unless the heat is on, so that when I react or over react, the ‘whatever’ comes to the surface, I confess it and cast it on the Lord, then that’s another area in my life straightened out a bit more, making me a bit more like Christ.

Father, forgive me when at times I try to squirm my way out of the crucible of testing. I choose to stay in the fire no matter how much it hurts to see the dross and impurities that are still in me rise to the surface. Turn the heat up I pray if you need to so that I may become more and more like Jesus. Amen.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

