Musings And Meditations Day 6.

ROOT, SHOOT AND FRUIT.

I recently watched a joyce Meyer broadcast. She is such a brilliant teacher and anointed of God. She taught on how a seed germinates and puts down more root than shoot at first, then later bears fruit, or flowers. She used a film clip sped up to show the process of germination to growth. What she taught on I already understood being a gardener of some 30 years. A single seed is burried and hidden in the soil, it germinates and starts to put down roots, then the shoots pop out the soil. The roots go down deeper than the shoots at first!

This is very frustrating for new gardeners because they want things to happen quickly, but nature doesn’t work like that, the roots go down deep for food and stability, or else at the first strong wind they would topple or break. So one just has to learn patience. Eventually the upward growth catches up and eventually it’s fruitful!

So what’s my point? The same as Joyce Meyers, maturity doesn’t happen over night! She didn’t get to where she is in a week, she had to follow God’s process, and it is generally very slow, but boy, it’s also very good.

Spiritually we grow through prayer, bible study and meditation, fellowship with believers and daily witness. So, how does your spiritual garden grow? We all can make a good choice to grow to maturity, but it won’t just happen! Here’s something for you to do, read Psalm 1, see the two contrasts of the blessed and the wicked! Think on how the blessed thrive. Understand how they thrive, decide you want to thrive like they do, and then practice what the blessed do. Notice how the tree planted by streams of water is succesful! It’s also Root, Shoot, then Fruit! Then notice the two outcomes or consequences of the choices of the righteous and the wicked, and then make your choice. God bless John.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Musings And Meditations Day 6.

  1. Gaynor Bate says:

    Hi Jon ,
    I just want you to know that these publications have really blessed me.They have made me think about growing spiritually and for me to allow for the growth of others. Please carry on pressing through God is obviously doing something here so thank you for your obedience.

  2. Sharon Francis says:

    Patience! One of the fruits of the spirit is patience. How can it grow if we dont give it time to. I must remain planted and sink my roots in deep. WOW! Thank you

Leave a Reply

