It’s All In The Name.

[Day 8] EL ROI. ‘The God who sees me’. [Gen16:13]

I will continue with this name of God which we began to look at yesterday. Hagar was all alone and she truly would have felt alone in this barren wilderness. She had been dealt with harshly by Sarai and Abram, and though on part it, was her own fault, nevertheless, here she was a fugitive with noone to turn to for help. The narrative doesn’t tell us that Hagar called upon the Lord for help, but He saw her and went to her rescue, comforted and counselled her.

There is immense comfort knowing that God sees every situation we are in, but also great challenge knowing we cannot escape from Him or His gaze. He knows everything about us and nothing takes Him by suprize. (Psalm 139:1-2).

This name reminds me of Jesus, who when on trial looked at Peter who had just denied Him, and all Jesus did was look! No words spoken but that look was enough. There would have been no malice or condemnation in that look. No, ‘I told you so’. No judgemental glare, no hate. Just pure love, forgiveness, compassion, mercy and understanding. God saw Hagars conflict and came to her aid. He saw Peter’s conflict and loved him still. El Roi looks at us today and knows all about all there is to know about us, and still He loves us. In this there is comfort.

PRAYER. Father, I thank you for your love and care for me. You see all things and you know all things. Come into all my situations and meet all my needs. Bless me to bless others and help me to see as you see, comfort as you comfort and love as you love. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

