Musings And Meditations

MEAL DEALS.

There are many feasts and meals in the Bible. Proverbs 17:1 say’s ‘A dry crust eaten in peace is better than a great feast eaten with strife.’ I want to briefly look at 3 meal deals. Two are junk food outcomes the other health food outcome.

MEAL DEAL 1

Genesis 3:1-7. You know the story, Eve is tempted to pick fruit from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil. She does and gives some to Adam to eat. At that moment sin enters the human race and it’s downhill junk from then on. What seemed to be a great feast, ended in bellyache and more, ‘HEARTACHE!’ Some one has said ‘I don’t know what the fruit was on the tree, beit apple or grapes, but what I do know is this, the problem was not with the apple on the tree but the pair [pear] on the ground’. O, and before we condemn Adam and Eve, remember, we would have done the same only to a greater degree.

MEAL DEAL 2

Genesis 27:27-33. The story of Esau and Jacob. Esau came home from hunting and he was famished, his brother Jacob, the homely boy had cooked some game stew and Esau’s fleshly desires got the better of him. Esau demanded stew straight away and Jocob took advantage of his brothers weakness by demanding the birthright in return for some stew. Esau, who was more concerned for his flesh than his spirit gave away his birthright  for a bowl of stew. Are we so different? We also give in to our fleshly appetites forsaking of our peace our walk and our confidence before God. Christ, who is our birthright and inheritence ensures we don’t lose those two things, but we do lose much for the sake of our stomaches, be it natural or spiritual. We gain, but like Esau in the end we lose.

MEAL DEAL 3

John 13 Imagine, you know this is going to be your last meal on earth! How would you eat it? Jesus ate it carefully and thoughtfully with those He had come to love. He was at peace, at ease with His Father’s will and confident in the path ahead, so He served His disciples, He loved them and cared for them, taught and encouraged them. Jesus ate His last meal with style and dignity before facing the cross. His final meal became an eternal deal for us. All we have to do is obey and follow Him. He; the bread  of life, our very sustenance was broken so that we may be whole and complete. Now that’s what I call health food, that’s what I call ‘the real meal deal’.

PRAYER Gracious and loving God. I thank you for all your blessings to me this new day. Thank you for the food I have to eat, there are many who are hungry today. But I also have natural appetites and some are not good. Help me not to compromise and give in to my fleshly appetites, but help me to be like Jesus who followed you to the end, no matter the cost. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

