Musings And Meditations.

COMFORT2COMFORT

2 Corinthians 1:6 ‘We are in deep trouble for bringing you God’s comfort and salvation. But in our trouble, God has comforted us’.

You can bet you bottom dollar that as soon as you seek to bring comfort to others and witness God’s salvation, that trouble will turn up and you will get some flak. The two seem to go hand in hand! We have all had troubles and difficult times but in these troubles when I have called out to God, He always without fail has comforted me! But I have also learned that that comfort is not just for me! I am not to hold on to it, box it, and then put it on the shelf logged in as a ‘done that one’ on my tick list of things to do!

No, we are told to take the comfort we have received personally from God, and reach out to others and comfort them with the same comfort with which we ourselves have been comforted! There are Christians and non Christians out there who are going through the mill, and they need an empathetic touch, they need empathetic eyes and ears. We who have received much comfort from God have more than enough comfort and empathy to give to them. Sympathy can only say, ‘I’m sorry for what you are going through, I hope things soon get better!’ Empathetic people however can say ‘ I know how it feels, I know what you are going through! Can I buy you a coffee and you can off load and I’ll just listen cuz I know what it’s like!’

PRAYER Gracious, loving  and merciful God. I cannot count the myriad times you have comforted me. They are immeasurable! Time and time again I have cried to you and poured out my heart in distress and every time you have comforted me and surrounded me with your love. Every time I have cast my cares upon you, you have shown compassion and care for me. You are such a wonderful counsellor, such an awsome comforter. Thank you O God my God. God my Father, help me to reach out and touch those who need a touch of comfort and care. God, be my heart, ears, eyes and mouth. Take my feet and use my hands to reach out with an empathetic heart so that I may comfort those who need comfort with the same comfort with which you have comforted me. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Musings And Meditations.

  1. beverley says:

    Amen! My spiritual mentor, Hilda, told me God had allowed me to go through my divorce partly so that I could bring comfort and hope to those who were going through or had been divorced. I listened to that advice, and God has since given me many opportunities to serve Him in that way.

  2. John Wunderlich says:

    Thanx Bev, I totally concur with that! The only way I can make sense of all the senseless stuff I’ve had to go through is when I read 2 Corinthians 1:1-6, then it all makes perfect sense as like you I too can empathise with those going through divorce or other stuff I’ve had thrown at me and those who are psychologically and emotionally beat up about it! Thanx again. See you soon. John

Leave a Reply

