Musings And Meditations.

‘OUR LIGHT AFFLICTION IS WORKING FOR US’. 2Corinthians 4:17

STOPS AND STARTS

In our times of trial, prayer will strengthen and comfort us, but what we may be going through is a season, and we can’t pray away seasons! We have to accept them and go through them even though they may afflict us! We need to face them, endure them, then be strengthened by them. If it’s a winter of the soul, then it has a purpose! if it’s spring, it too has a purpose, but a very different one to winter!

When one season is over, a new one begins. Fruit trees are fruitful for only a very short period of time, then they spend the rest of the time in rest and preparation for the next harvest time! Ever thought about Jesus? He spent 30 years preparing for only 3 years of ministry! But boy, did He cram it in for those 3 years. Preparation and rest is neccesary for fruitfulness, fruitbearing is hard and draining work! It literally SAPS the energy, strength and resources out of the tree. I think that is where the saying comes from in fact?

Therefore about October time, the sap returns to the root system and the tree goes in to hibernation for about 6 months! It jolly well needs it! Is this speaking to any one else or is it just me? The tree needs a rest, it needs to catch its breath and it needs to prepare for the next season! And so do I, and so too do you! It slows down, recouperates and revitalses itself through rest.

These stops and rests are as important to the tree as stops and rests are in music! We may not even notice stops and rests! In fact stops and rests are not very noticable and so we may think they are not important! We think only activity is important cuz it is seen; rests aren’t, stops aren’t, and yet, the reality is that, be it in music, trees or my life, the stops and rests are as vital if not more to fruitfulness and success!

Dear Father God, I confess my present affliction does not feel light at all, yet I know that compared to the weight of glory to come, it is very small and momentary.  Jesus, I want  bear more fruit for you because it brings you glory, but I don’t really like the affliction esp the winter of soul, but I know it is vitally important. So, help me to understand and accept the season I am in, for  I know when it ends another one will begin. Help me also to know when to stop and rest so that I don’t burn out. Thank you Lord . Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

