Musings And Meditations.

FOUR SEASONS.

WINTER

This is my least favourite season, be it in nature or in the season of the soul! It is the time of death or deep sleep, very little to no activity. It’s the place where all our dreams, hopes and aspirations seem to have fallen to earth and disolved just as the leaves on the trees have! And yet it is a vital and neccesary season.

Everything at some point needs to rest, even the human soul! Ever wondered what the Psalmist meant when he penned the words ‘He restores my soul?’ Psalm 23v3. Our souls get weary! Our spirit never does, but the soul is where the spirit touches the flesh and it is prone to weariness, hence there are times we need to ask God to restore and renew and revive our souls!

Now, how does God do this? Well, we either pray for Him to and then put ourselves in the position where He can restore us, or as the Psalmist said, ‘He makes me lie down’. Psm 23v2. When a Shepherd knows his flock is weary, he leads them to where they can rest and he literally makes them lie and rest; they have little choice. I believe our Good Shepherd does the same for us!

God made Elijah lie down and rest. 1 Kings:19vss1-9. He allowed Elijah to sleep and brought him food and drink by an angel, in fact, I think that was the first ‘angel cake!’ LOL. I believe Elijah had soul as well as physical fatigue and God gives us the answer to the winter of soul. Sensible rest, plenty of sleep, healthy food and lots of water. In winter time I try to follow this pattern especially as I suffer from Seasonally Affected Disorder! I haven’t had to use anti-depresants for over 6 years now, and it is mostly because I follow biblical principles! Well enough about me, my friends, if you don’t stop yourself; if you are burning out, then I assure you The Lord will stop you and make you rest, He has me over the last week!

But above all remember this, winter is a time of preparation for spring and summer! You can not face the pressure of new direction [SPRING] and heavy fruitfulness [SUMMER] without the preparation of WINTER!

PRAYER: Father God, your word gives me hope that this winter of the soul I am going through wont last for ever, and that it is simply a time of preparation for a new direction in my life! Help me to rest and trust in you as you prepare me. In Jesus’ name I ask . Amen.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

