Musings And Meditations.

FOUR SEASONS

SUMMER

Just before we look at summer, I forgot to mention last time in the  study of spring as to  where Elijah fit in! It’s when he had slept, eaten and drank; then  he ROSE up, and walked to Mt Horeb for an awesome encounter with God. He went UP the Mt and there God reinstated him, restored him, re-envisioned him, revived him and re-commisioned him. That my friends is the springtime of the soul! You get back what you lost and more besides! For Jesus, well, if Ressurection sunday wasn’t springtime for Jesus, then I don’t know what was?

So to summer. Summer is all about what the previous 3 seasons are for! HARVEST! The first 3 seasons are about preparation, getting ready, plowing, harrowing and sowing! In nature it’s a similar thing! But now it’s time to reap the benefits of all that hard work and weariness. Summer is enjoyment time, yes, there is still a lot of work to do, but now you know why you went through it all! I have over 56lbs of potatos stored and they will take me through to Christmas. I’ll make sure there’s enough for Christmas dinner. I have bags and bags of broad beans blanched and frozen. I have runner beans blanched and frozen and loads still to pick. Courgettes too. I have French climbers and bush French beans ready to be eaten or frozen, strawberries frozen and cooking apples too. I still have beetroot, Kale, Parsnips and a host of herbs to use or dry and store. Not to mention lettuce and tomatoes! And I have given loads away too. That’s what it’s all about! Now listen to the spiritual counter part!

Galatians 6:9 ‘So don’t get tired of doing what is good. Don’t get discouraged and give up, for we will reap a harvest of blessings at the appropriate time’.

2 Corinthians 4:16-18 ‘That is why we never give up. Though our bodies are dying, our spirits are being renewed every day. For our present troubles are quite small and wont last very long. Yet they produce for us an immeasurably great glory that will last forever! So we don’t look at the troubles we can see right now; rather, we look forward to what we have not yet seen. For the troubles we see now will soon be over, but the joys to come will last forever’. Hallelujah and whoopie!

That’s what it’s all about! That is why I look at my garden now and realise in a month or so I will have to clear it, dig it, and lime and manure it. Blood, sweat and tears. But I see in my minds eye HARVEST, SUMMER 2012! That’s why I keep going; that’s my vision for my garden! The future blessings to come! And spiritually that’s why I keep going. THE GREATER WEIGHT OF GLORY TO COME. I will conclude this tomorrow looking at Elijah and Jesus also. Till then, Never give up, never surrender. 🙂

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Musings And Meditations.

  1. Beverley says:

    Thanks John – great stuff. May your garden grow abundantly- both physically and spiritually!!

Leave a Reply

