Musings And Meditations.

‘Let us strip off and throw aside every encumberance [unnecessary weight] and that sin that so readily [deftly and cleverly] clings to us and entangles us’. Hebrews 12:1 Amplified.

Now I know this scripture is an analogy of an athelete making sure nothing hinders him from winning his race, but there are also things that can hinder some plants from bearing much fruit; and so, the analogy is then applicable to our fruitfulness!

For example, tomato plants,  grapevines and many fruit trees are more productive when some branches and leaves are stripped off! On most of my tomato plants as the fruit on the trusses swell, I strip off the lower leaves as this allows more of the energy and starches to go to swelling and ripening the fruit, but it also opens up the fruit to day light and more importantly sun light! [Sun, what’s that? LOL] and thus, still allowing enough green plant/leaf availability to enable photosynthesis to function effectively! The tomato plants in my garden that I have stripped are more productive than the ones I have left to bush out.

The grapevines I tend in Stratford are the same, I remove all unfruitful branches and strip off about one third of the leaves, esp any that are not dark green! Re fruit trees, I prune any lateral branches that shoot in toward the tree rather than out, and try to form a [brandy gobblet] type habit for it, again this is exposing the fruit to more daylight and sunlight.

Another applicable scripture to this is Matthew 13:7 ‘Other seed fell among thorns [brambles/weeds] and the thorns grew up and choked them out.’  Anything that takes up precious space and stops the sun from shining in and stops plants/trees from being exposed to the light is a hinderance and blockage to fruitfulnes, and so it must be stripped away or as a gardener/farmer you will be robbed of your 30%, 60% even 100% harvest! Little or no returns for your investment in your garden is not very prudent!!

Now, you don’t have to be a rocket scientist to work out how this applies to your spiritual well-being and fruitfulness! We need The Son [Sun] to shine in to our lives more and more to greater degrees of glory! We need to be exposed to more light [Thy word is a light to my path Psalm 119:150], and so we/I need to strip off every hinderence, weight and care, and every perennial pesky weed of sin that encumbers us, and weighs us down and holds us back from our 30/60/100 fold harvest. Ok! Go pray!

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

