How Does Your Garden Grow

SOIL

I’ve noticed in my own garden that where the soil is well cultivated and friable, weeds do not flourish and they are easy to pull up, as long as I don’t leave them too long to get established. I have also observed that if I leave my garden unattended even for short periods, it soon becomes full of weeds. This has taught me a lot about my own spiritual condition and still does. Because I know if I neglect my spiritual life it also soon becomes wild and reverts back to it’s fallen state. I don’t believe I lose my salvation, but I definitely lose fruit production.

When I neglect prayer, bible study, practical Christian living, giving and meeting with other Christians, I seem to revert back to old ways, bad habits and attitudes, I find myself neglecting to do what is right and good, I find myself thinking, saying and doing unhealthy stuff, especially negative thinking patterns. The opposite to all this is fruitfulness through diligence and good cultivation. Diligence requires hard work and commitment to the task. Diligence also requires discipline; neglect requires only that you do nothing at all. Paul said in Philippians 2:12 “work out your own salvation with fear and trembling”. In the New Living Translation it’s more to the point, be even more careful to put in to action God’s saving work in your lives, obeying God with deep reverence and fear”. In other words, work at cultivating what God has planted in you!

PRAYER  God my heavenly Father. I see how easy it is to neglect my natural garden and how quickly it goes wild and run down. I have experienced it first hand, but even moreso, O God in the garden of my heart. When I neglect you and prayer and bible study and all those spiritual devotions, I see how quickly I get hardness of heart, roots of bitterness and sour soil of stinkin thinkin, so help me /us I pray O God to keep close to you and keep the soil of our hearts sweet. In Jesus’ name Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

