How Does Your Garden Grow?

SOIL

I like the verse in Galatians 6:9  “So don’t get tired of doing what is good. Don’t get discouraged and give up, for we will reap a harvest of blessing at the appropriate time” This is what happens in the spiritual garden and what for me happens in my natural garden.

This speaks to me of diligence, blood, sweat, tears and hard work. I can see no other way in my garden! If I want a good crop of fruit, flowers and vegetables, I have to work my soil and work my garden! I have to raise the fertility of the soil because of the demands of the harvest, and in the spiritual it’s the same. The more fertile your heart the more God will expect returns from it and rightly so! He planted the garden of our hearts just as He planted the garden in Eden! And therefore I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s exactly the same with my spiritual (heart) garden; don’t believe it, just neglect your quiet times and prayer times for a few months and then see what happens! I have, (not purposely), and I was shocked at my wayward attitude and this has happened more than once, and I’m sure I’m not the only one. But it doesn’t have to be so. Just take a quick glance at Psalm 1 and see how the tree stays fruitful! It’s roots stay in the water! Spiritually it’s saying, we need to meditate day and night upon The word of the Lord to remain fruitful. (More of that later on) You may say, just pray for your natural and spiritual garden to flourish, but I would say why in the beginning before the fall did God say to Adam, cultivate and ‘care take’ in the garden of Eden? God could have just spoken the word and the garden would be tilled and cultivated. God set a precedent for Adam and therefore for us also, diligence, cultivation and hard work are what’s required for fruitfulness. This applies spiritually too! God does His part when we do ours. The second half of Philippians 2:12 Say’s “for God is at work in you giving you the desire to obey Him and the power to do what pleases Him,

PRAYER  Gracious Lord and Creator. Help me to stick at it and be tenacious! Help me to work hard in my natural garden so that it’s even more fruitful, and the garden of my heart so that it is abundantly fruitful. For your glory and in Jesus’ name I pray. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Does Your Garden Grow?

  1. Lydia Nock says:

    Fantastic word =)

Leave a Reply

