How Does Your Garden Grow?

SOIL

Where to start?  I guess where Jesus started, in the parable of the Sower! ‘Some seeds fell on the hard pathway’. Mk 4:4. The soil on the hard pathway is the way it is through traffic trampling upon it! I.e. People, Oxen and carts, camels, Donkey’s and not to mention harsh weather conditions. These harden and compact the soil, and when seeds falls upon it they simply stay on the surface of the soil and gets eaten by birds or just get blown away by the wind! What the seed doesn’t do is sink into the soil, and so the conditions for germination are not met!

How is this overcome? Through ploughing, tilling and harrowing the soil! That’s mainly the methods for Farmers! For us ordinary gardeners, it’s a case of digging! If it’s a new plot it’s best to double dig it! Double digging is recommended on a new vegetable or flowerbed and, on heavy soils, every three or four years thereafter. It can be hard work if you are not used to it, but you can introduce yourself to it gradually, there’s no need to complete a bed in one session, half an hour a day will get the bed dug in a reasonable time without putting your back out. The best time of year to double dig a new vegetable or flower bed on clay soils is in the Autumn (October/November) – or Winter (through to February) during a frost-free and relatively dry period, this will allow the winter frosts to help break down the soil in to a FRIABLE condition ready for Spring planting. Tomorrow I’ll go into a bit more detail as to the how’s and why’s of double digging.

But to briefly apply this spiritually one has to only think of all the times we get walked on and trampled down  in life! Our hopes, aspirations and dreams get trampled in the dust, and we can get hard hearted because of it! This is what Jesus is teaching in this parable. Heart responses and attitudes are represented by the 4 soils! Hard hearts reject the seed, mainly because of unforgiveness and bitterness. We will look at that a little more tomorrow.

PRAYER. Father in heaven, help me begin to see if there is any hardness in my heart or bitterness of soul? If there is, I pray you would begin to plough my heart’s soil and prepare me for a harvest. In the name of Jesus. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How Does Your Garden Grow?

  1. Lydia Nock says:

    AMEN =)

Leave a Reply

