How Does Your Garden Grow?

SOIL

Jesus continues in the parable of the Sower, Mark 4:5 ‘Some seed fell upon  shallow soil with underlying rock. The plant sprang up quickly’. Now this was obviously a soil condition favourable to germination but not growth and maturity leading to harvest! Jesus made that clear when He said, ‘But it soon wilted beneath the hot sun and died because the roots had no nourishment in the shallow soil.’ [vs 6]

Now I don’t think for a minute that the Farmer had ploughed this area because it would have broken his ploughshares! This was simply a rocky area that the wind had blown soil upon, leaves had fallen and decayed to form humous, and animals had done their business there probably, and so in the right season the seed gets scattered, some fall on this area and because you have soft, yeilded soil, the seeds sink in! There’s moisture and fertility and warmth and dark, the usual conditions for germination!

And so because of the shallowness of the soil, it quickly springs up and looks hopeful, until things start to get a bit hot under the collar! The sun rises, all available surface moisture is gone and so the root heads down. One problem! There is no down! There is no sub-soil, now underlying water reserve, no anchorage, no nothing and so the plant simply shrivells up because it has no depth!

Tommorow I will look at how Jesus applied this and how we too can apply it to our lives.

PRAYER

Father God, the last thing I want is shallowness in my heart and life. Help me to recognise any areas in my life that are represented by this senario. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

