Musings And Meditations.

SOIL

We are continuing to look at how we can create a productive [natural] garden, and how Jesus used the same terminology to explain how the Kingdom of God grows here on earth in the [spiritual] gardens of our hearts!

OVERGROWN SOIL Mark 4:7 ‘Other seed fell among thorns that shot up and choked out the tender blades so that it produced no grain’. These are what I call PERENNIAL PESTS! They are what the fall in the garden of Eden have given us. Thorns, thistle, bind weed, couch grass, ground elder, mares tail and so on! There’s not a thing you have to do to get them or encourage them, all you have to do is neglect your soil for a month or so and bam, there they are!

Because they are so tenacious, established and strong, they immediately choked out and over run the new tender shoots if they are not dealt with. They take up space, block out the sunlight, they use up nutrients the plants need and they harbour unwanted pests and disease.

We notice them in the heart garden when you are trying to cultivate something good and something else rises up in the heart to try to stop it by choking it out! Observing little children is a good way of seeing it! You want them to do something and they say no! They disobey! Who taught them to do that? As parents we don’t do we? Somethig rises up in the hearts of children that we did not plant, we did not cultivate we did not nurture! It’s just there and it seeks to choke out the good we try to teach our kids, good that’s ultimately for their own good, but rebellion rises up to kill it! That’s the result of the fall, and it’s just as rampant in us grown up kids!

What can we do about this? Well, tune in tomorrow and I’ll give some pointers

PRAYER Heavenly Creator God, just reading this causes me to observe that there are things in my life that choke the living day lights out of the good I want to do. Help me to be honest with you and myself as I seek to identify what these weeds are and literally ‘weed them out’. Amen.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

