THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

THE ARK OF THE COVENANT

2 Samuel 6:13 ‘The Ark of the Lord remained there with the family of Obededom for 3 months, and the Lord blessed him and his entire household’.

Have you seen the film Evan Almighty? I just love it, and though that is about Noah’s Ark, nevertheless, both Ark’s carry the blessing of God, in fact there are really 3 Ark’s! Noah’s, the basket in which Moses was saved, was called an ark, and the Ark of the Covenant. In the film, the word ARK was used as a mnemonic an Act Of Random Kindness, I like that! Before the Ark of the Covenant finally got to Jerusalem, it remained at the house of Obededom for 3 months, in which time they were mightily blessed of God. The Ark of the covenant represents the presence of God in the old and new covenants! [the tablets of the law] [the pot of manna] and [the budding staff] inside the box represent The law, the bread of life (Jesus Christ) and the budding staff the power of the resurrection in Christ Jesus.

If you make a thoughtful study of Jeremiah 29 and not just verse 29:11, you will see that despite Israel’s gross sin, where they went and prayed for the people, the people would be blessed and Israel blessed because of it. Where the Ark went, God’s presence and blessing went! Where Israel went in obedience to God, He went with them and blessed others! I believe that Christians, the Church and us as individuals go as salt and light and like the Ark, we are able to influence folk and situations for the glory of God and their own welfare because we carry the presence of God within us. I will look at this randomly over the next few weeks.

PRAYER Father, I truly believe that where I go I take you with me and leave a residual blessing in the place and to those people! Help me grasp this, your salt and light in me are not solely for my benefit but also for the welfare of others. Help me do this O God, in Jesus’ name. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

