SIXTH SENSE

[Joshua 10.22]  [‘Bring out the 5 kings’] vs 24 ‘Joshua told the captains of the army to put their feet on the kings necks’

4) SMELL  [king].  As this sense is strongly linked with taste, I will only briefly look at this. The sense of smell is a vital discerning sense to us as humans! As I said in a previous text, we smell a rat [lit, something rotting], or that something is not quite right! We can smell smoke or something burning. On the positive side, the Roses I grow smell beautiful, the vegetables I grow smell tasty. The Bible talks much about the sweet perfume of incense representing the prayers of God’s people, Myrrh the perfume of Jesus’ sacrifice, spikenard the fragrance of the presence of God; in fact I would be so bold as to say that many times when leading worship, I have spiritually smelled the presence of the Lord; and the opposite to that I have smelt the stench of the presence of the devil and demons!

The devil will try to twist our sense of smell and discernment! Again, at the very beginning he did this with Eve. Genesis 3:1-6 it is plain to see that as the devil was trying to deceive Eve, and though she was putting us some good [though theologically incorrect] arguments, she was discerning that something was not quite right, but her theology was not strong enough to discern what it was and so she didn’t smell the danger of the trap the devil was setting! The rest is history. So we need to know our theology, we need to know what the Bible say’s so that we can discern what is of God, and what stinks of the devil!

PRAYER Gracious and loving Father God. Thank you that you have given to us the answer to all of our needs in the Bible. I need to be more discerning of the traps and snares the enemy sets for me. Help me to learn to discern, and when I smell a rat  or demon king, help me to stamp on its neck and totally crush it. In Jesus’ name. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

