SIXTH SENSE

[Joshua 10.22]  [‘Bring out the 5 kings’] vs 24 ‘Joshua told the captains of the army to put their feet on the kings necks’

5) TOUCH [king]. We look today at the last of our senses; ‘TOUCH’. This is the tactile sense, I guess you could call it the ‘hands on’ sense! We first encounter it in Genesis and in quite a bizarre setting.

Genesis 3v3 “It’s only the fruit from the tree at the centre of the garden that we are not allowed to eat. God say’s we must not eat it or even touch it , or we will die”.

Just as a humorous aside. I wonder if this was the first ever GARDEN CENTRE?’ That is a joke of course!

Now, this is where our theology is so important. There are two main points here where Eve got the word of God wrong! Today I’ll look at the first one. ‘It’s only the fruit from the tree at the centre of the garden we are not allowed to eat’. The second we’ll look at next time ‘or even TOUCH it!’ Now, we need to make a comparison with Genesis 2 vs 15-17 and see what’s gone wrong!

‘The Lord God placed the man in the garden of Eden to tend and care for it. But the Lord gave him this warning: “you may eat freely of any fruit in the garden except fruit from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil. If you eat ITS fruit you will surely die.”

God said ‘you can eat ANY fruit except from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil’ Eve said ‘we are not allowed to eat from the tree at the centre of the garden.’ God didn’t say that! He was very specific! ‘You can eat any fruit!’ [that included the tree of life] God was specific, Eve wasn’t! There were two trees at the centre of this argument. God specified which not to eat from! Now, perhaps Adam didn’t pass the message across rightly or Eve misinterpreted it, nevertheless, when we don’t take God at His word, [as we can see here] we get in to all kinds of difficulties and sin. So, we really need to make sure we know our theology. I know I certainly do.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

