SIXTH SENSE

[Joshua 10.22]  [‘Bring out the 5 kings’] vs 24 ‘Joshua told the captains of the army to put their feet on the kings necks’

5) TOUCH [king]. We continue look today at the last of our senses; ‘TOUCH’. This is the tactile sense, I guess you could call it the ‘hands on’ sense! We first encounter it in Genesis and in quite a bizarre setting.

Genesis 3v3 “It’s only the fruit from the tree at the centre of the garden that we are not allowed to eat. God say’s we must not eat it or even touch it , or we will die”.

‘or even TOUCH it!’ Where and when did God say that? So, the first theological mistake was that God had said ‘you can’t eat from the tree at the centre of the garden’, which in fact He never said that, and secondly in fact He was very specific about which trees to eat from and which tree not to eat from, and He never said anything about touching the fruit. It stands to reason that if you are going to eat any fruit you have to first pick it and therefore touch it! God said ‘don’t eat from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil’, it is therefore logical not to touch it because to eat it you would have to first pick it which means you would touch it! Logical or what?

My obvious conclusion is that Eve was confused and flummoxed! Which is the usual result from a wrong or insufficient knowledge of the Bible and what it really say’s!  Or better still “what God really say’s!” Which is something I think most of us struggle with! So, [1] check your theology! and [2] rectify it if it doesn’t fall in line with what God actually and specifically say’s. I could say so much more re touch, but it’s pretty obvious what we should and shouldn’t touch! Nevertheless, what we need to do with our natural senses is to firstly bring them in line with the word of God and His moral codes! And secondly, to take any demonic king that would try to use our senses against us and to put our foot on its neck and trample it underfoot Next time we will begin to look at our “SIXTH SENSE.” [Metaphorically speaking of course]

PRAYER Gracious and loving God. I firstly want to thank you for all of my senses, they make life so wonderful! All the beauty I can SEE, all the wonderful sounds I can HEAR, and all those aromatic SMELLS, and delightful TASTES, and of course the scintillating sense of TOUCH. But I also know that my senses can bring about my downfall when they become temptations rather than God blessed sensations. Therefore, I bring them to you and lay them in surrender at your feet and ask you to help me overcome the temptations of the senses and use them only to glorify you and not to gratify my lusts, desires and wants. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SIXTH SENSE

  1. kimmal says:

    Beautiful : ) x

Leave a Reply

