A DAILY LIGHT BITE

A DAILY DOSE OF COMMON SENSE

Proverbs 3:21 “Have two goals: wisdomthat is knowing and doing what is right-and common sense. Don’t let them slip away.”

One aspect of common sense is preparedness! Our pastor Jon Collyer has recently been speaking about getting ready. I’ve recently been looking at preparedness, both the same of course. How many times I have heard well meaning Christians say “Oh I just preach/lead worship etc without preparation, I just let the Holy Spirit do His stuff through me!” Now I would never belittle the work of the Holy Spirit, and I have had moments where I’ve had to just jump in and preach or lead within moments, and the Holy Spirit’s more than helped me, but those are special moments and fairly rare. Most of the time we are expected to prepare and thoroughly at that! I usually prepare to lead worship at least a week before I actually lead. I pray, prepare and fast about it such is the privilege, but also the responsibility before God and the congregation of God’s people.

Now, the Bible speaks much about preparedness and getting ready, which I’ll look at another day, but for now, lets remember this, Moses went through 80 years of preparation for 40 years ministry! That’s 2 thirds preparation for 1 third ministry! What if he said to himself, ‘I don’t need to waste all this time with training!’ Esther was in the Kings harem and was being prepared for 12 months before the king chose her, however the King of all Kings was preparing her for years beforehand for such a time as this to save the Jews. What if she said, ‘I don’t need to prepare, I’ll just go as I am!’ Jesus prepared for 30 years for 3 years ministry that’s 9 tenths preparation for 1 tenth ministry! Now do the math, and ask yourself as I am asking myself, “how goes my preparations?” You see, we live in such an age of instant and disposable commodities that we think the same way about God’s work for us I want it now, then when I get bored or am not acknowledged by folk then I’m off! However, let’s allow godly common sense to prevail, if great men and women in the Bible had to prepare, so must we.

PRAYER

Father God, help me to know what you want me to do! Help me prepare for it, and then empower me to do it. In Jesus’ name Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

