A DAILY LIGHT BITE

DOES AND DON’T’S

Some say that Christianity or religion is just a bunch of does and don’ts meted out by a judgmental God! Well, one things for sure, when my son was little I often had to say don’t do that, or you can do that! Did that make me a harsh, judgemental dad? Of course not, I did it because I love him and wanted the best for him and I knew because I’m older and wiser that something’s are harmful, thus I said no or don’t or don’t touch, but if it was good and helpful I would of course say yes!!

God is so much wiser than any of us, and because He is all-knowing He say’s DON’T, to something’s, and DO, to others! Here are some beauties from Psalm 37 and I challenge anyone to say that God HASN’T got our best interests in mind here!

Psalm 37

Verse 1 don’t worry and don’t be envious of those who do wrong.

Verse 3 [Instead], do trust in the Lord and do good, then you will live safely in the land and prosper.

Verse 7 [Do] be still in the presence of the Lord and [do] wait for Him to act. [Or my paraphrase, ‘Stop fidgeting, keep still, don’t be restless, lay in God’s arms and in His time He’ll act’!]

Verse 8 don’t be angry and don’t be full of rage. Do not envy others- it only leads to harm.

Verse 34 don’t be impatient for the Lord to act! Travel steadily along His path.

Pretty sage and sound advise if you ask me. So go and do the do’s and don’t do the don’ts! [Sounds a bit like a Police song!] LOL

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A DAILY LIGHT BITE

  1. I love what James MacDonald says about the Lord:
    “When He says “don’t,” He means, “don’t hurt yourself.”
    I learned many things about the nature of God by being a parent. It sounds like you have, too.

    Have a God day!

    \ 🙂 /

    • wonderboy57 says:

      Hi, yes I would so agree with you. That’s exactly what I’m trying to say to my son, ‘it’s not good for you, you’re gonna get hurt if you do that!’ He does listen most times, but sometimes one has to learn the hard way. Have a G’day. John

Leave a Reply

