THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

PROVERBS, PARABLES AND PRAYERS

Yesterday I looked at proverbs 11 and an analogy of the river Jordan flowing in to two lakes and how different the lakes are because one receives and gives  and therefore stays fresh, vibrant and beneficial to life! The other lake receives and hoards and remains, stagnant, stale and stinky! [Check out yesterday’s blog to follow the thread]. Today I want to link it with a parable of Jesus’.

Read Matthew 25:14-30. This is the parable of the 3 servants. A king going on a journey gave them talents [bags of gold] to invest whilst he went away. To one servant was given 5 bags of gold, to the next was given 2 bags of Gold; the 3rd servant was given one bag of gold. All three were expected to invest these talents/money and put it to work for the king. The first two servants did just that and in the famous words of Hughie Green, “they doubled their money!” However, the 3rd servant was fearful and buried his talents in the ground! The first two servants were like the Sea of Galilee, they received and then gave/invested [they had an inlet and an outlet]! However, the 3rd servant was like the Dead Sea, he received and held tightly to his talents, he had an inlet but no outlet!

APPLY if you have a talent/money or any gift, then I believe it’s all from God [The King], our gifts are for sharing not just for ourselves. You hear the phrase “they have hidden talent” banded around quite often, however, I say ‘why is it hidden?’ It’s meant to be on display and used for the benefit or pleasure of others! [Just imagine the Olympics recently and if all our athletes buried their talents and abilities! We would have no medals at all]! The 3rd servant had hidden [his] talent, but the story ends with him losing everything! Talent’s not meant to be buried, but used. As a singer/musician I am always looking for ways to use these God-given gifts, so I lead worship at Church, go to other Churches to use the gifts and go to open mic nights in Pubs to entertain folk. I love it and feel great afterwards because I am doing what I was designed and created to do! I’ll look at that a bit more tomorrow when we look at PRAYERS. So, I exhort you, if you have anything that’s a gift from God, use it or you just may lose it!

Nb. I believe these blogs are a gift from God so I can bless and encourage others! Would you be willing to be an outlet of them and perhaps copy and paste them to a friend or send a link to someone who may benefit by them! Let’s spread the word and mobilise God’s people. Bless you all and thanks.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

