THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

DEALING WITH A DISAPPOINTMENT [3]

LESS CAN SOMETIMES BE MORE!

Proverbs 11:24 it is possible to give freely and yet become wealthier.

It is possible to suffer loss and yet, gain even more! [John W ]

I have been looking at dealing with disappointment and how sometimes we need to make changes or adaptations to deal with it! We looked at the vine yesterday and how pruning can help produce more fruit. Sometimes we have to strip some things down to the bear minimum before they become more; like my vines, they looked gorgeous full of foliage, but you can’t eat foliage; so now they look bear, and yet they shall produce an abundance of fruit!

I can remember and not that long ago when my diary was full of engagements and things to be done, outwardly my life looked the Bees knees I was thriving and successful, [or so I thought!] And I also thought I was the business for God. But just like the outward form of the vines at Stratford they looked great but the fruit suffered! And then the pruning began! I had a thriving children’s ministry and worked full-time for a Church, I was out regularly preaching, teaching, ministering and loads of stuff! It felt so good, until the Lord took His pruning knife and stripped me down to almost zero! Was I disappointed? Yes and more, I was absolutely gutted! Was I angry with God? Yes, but more, I was livid with Him and blamed Him for my loss! Did it affect my life? Yes, I sunk into a deep pit of depression! He took everything away from me [or so I thought], but His ways are not our ways, His thoughts are not our thoughts!

You know, you can take a handful of pebbles and throw them at a target and you just may hit it! However, you can take one pebble, aim, focus, throw and hit bull’s eye; ask David! When he slew Goliath David had five pebbles, he could’ve chucked the lot in the hope of maybe a little success! But no, he took one pebble, aimed, focused and hit the desired target. Sometimes less is more! I had loads of ministry outlets but I think only little real success! Has my less become more? Well I’ll look at that next time and see if less can be more?

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

  1. kimmal says:

    Brilliant again, always seems to hit me where i am : ) x thanks x

  2. Colin Tanner says:

    Great insight into what you have been through John. Very encouraging, thanks.

Leave a Reply

