THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

DEALING WITH A DISAPPOINTMENT [4]

WHEN LESS BECOMES MORE!

Job 1:21b ‘The Lord gave me everything I had and the Lord has taken it away. Praise the name of the Lord’.

This will be our last look at dealing with disappointment! What I love about God and the Bible is the honesty and reality of it all! You would think our Heavenly Father would want to present His children as perfect, flawless and almost super human! I find it very hard to relate to Christians who portray their lives as always victorious, never a problem, never a doubt, always at their peak and always in the zone. Now saying that, I guess many folk would’ve said the same about me some few years ago and that they couldn’t relate to me! It’s amazing what a lot of pruning and humblings can do!

O.k. you say, why are you exposing your faults, flaws and weaknesses like this? Well, like me there are a lot of folk going through the mill, through dire adversity and loss and they may think they are the only ones going through it and they don’t understand why! Now I could keep stumph and pretend my life was, is and will continually be wonderful and perfect, but to me that’s hypocrisy, unrealistic and so totally untrue! So, I choose to be real even though it exposes my flaws. If it helps someone else then I say ‘jolly good show too!’

So, has my loss produced more? Well, I think so. For one thing, in ministry I can focus now on my two anointed strengths instead of half a dozen add on’s as well which simply were in reality a devilish distraction keeping me from ‘the real deal’ from God! In fact, it was only through the loss that I realized what my two anointed gifting’s were! Before that, I was so busy doing lots ‘of stuff’ that I couldn’t recognize what God really wanted me to focus on! So now, in social circles, I have more time for my friends, and in family, I have a closer relationship to my son than ever before! We do tuns together and have great fun together especially in music. I am more content and happier than before and I think my life is more fruitful and focused than ever before.  I feel healthier, I am less stressed, and much richer for my loss.  Job lost more than I ever have, but I feel that some of the last words in the book of Job apply to me and many others and can apply to you also! “So the Lord blessed Job in the second half of his life even more than in the beginning” Job 42:12 I want to reach 100 years and still be as strong as Caleb! I am now 55, so I am in to “the second half” of my life! So, bring it on!

PRAYER Gracious God, I thank you for the lessons in the Bible and the honesty and reality found in its pages. Lord, we find it hard to comprehend that loss can become more, but the economics of your Kingdom are not like the world’s, so help us I pray to accept loss and trust that not only do you know what you are doing, but that out of the loss will come gain, out of the hurt and the pain, joy will come again and that ALL THINGS ARE WORKING TOGETHER FOR THE GOOD OF THOSE WHO LOVE THE LORD. Thank you Lord. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

