THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

DEALING WITH A DISAPPOINTMENT [CONCLUSION]

WHEN LESS BECOMES MORE!

Ok, this is my final look at this specific subject. The photo isn’t brilliant, but if you look closely you will see the clusters of grapes! There are loads, but they are a bit behind because of the bad weather! You will note also that there are not many leaves and branches! That is because I have stripped the vines down to the barest minimum to get maximum results! Less will become more. The energy from the vine will now become concentrated in to the grapes because I have cut off that which drains the resources of the vine, that is the useless branches and unnecessary leaves.

I believe this is what the Lord has done for me. It’s been painful, but to maximize my potential God has had to minimize and remove the energy sapping dead works in my life! Tough but love has to be sometimes! This all sounds harsh, but I have been involved in Church leadership in the past, and the amount of time wasters and resource consumers is no ones business! I remember one person whom the Church leadership threw hours of time, ministry and resources at, I told them they were being led a merry dance, but they got upset with me. Unfortunately they found out themselves in time after wasting loads of time on one fruitless [time wasting] branch whilst other fruitful ones needed nurturing!

The point is that in John 15 Jesus teaches us that if we are to be more fruitful then certain unnecessary things will have to be stripped away so that the focus can be upon that which is of Kingdom value! It may not be what we want to hear, but it is God’s way, anything that detracts, distracts or hinders us from fruitfulness He will remove! He has to! He has invested so much into us the branches how can He do otherwise?

PRAYER Gracious and loving God. I thank you that you love us so much and want the very best for us, that you will take your pruning knife and strip away everything that hinders us and stops us being fruitful and useful. Father, Jesus suffered so that we may be fruitful and that He may see fruit for the suffering of His soul! Help me I pray not to disappoint Him. He deserves more than that. Thank you. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

  1. Kim says:

    Wow great thanks John, and so relevant to me again xx

  2. Colin Tanner says:

    Thanks Jon, I have enjoyed that little ‘mini-series’ can’t wait for your next publication.
    Keep on truckin’
    Colin

Leave a Reply

