THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

COMFORT 2 COMFORT

I have just finished the mini series of ‘DEALING WITH DISAPPOINTMENT [WHEN LESS BECOMES MORE!’] In a few days time I want to carry on with that theme by looking at the Smelters furnace and the purification of silver and gold! But before that I want us to see how this theme is not just a blessing for ourselves! The previous series aimed more at personal fruitfulness and personal growth. Now in this short series I want us to see that God can use our suffering and trials [our loss and pruning] to help us reach out to others! This is like the jam and cream in between two Victoria sponges! The sponge is nice, but the jam and cream  are nicer! We’ve done the one side of the sponge, but let’s have a taste of the sweet stuff before we go to the next slice of sponge!

2 Corinthians 1:3-4 “I thank God the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ that He is our Father and the source of all comfort. For He gives us comfort in all our trials so that we in turn may be able to give the same sort of strong sympathy to others in their troubles that we receive from God”. You know as well as I do that when you, [like I] went through the mill or may be you are going through it right now? No one comforts you like God the Father does! The most loving spouse, the nicest kids, the best Counsellors money can buy can’t be there 24/7 like our Heavenly Father can through His Holy Spirit.

However, God doesn’t just comfort us so that we can feel nice and warm and toasty inside; no, there is purpose in our pain, and it’s mainly so that we can empathize with those who are going through what we have been through ourselves! Yes, there are those special moments when God by the Holy Spirit or Ministering angels come and comfort us, but most of the time , our Father in heaven uses flesh and blood to comfort flesh and blood, and flesh and blood that’s been there, got the T-shirt and the DVD! There’s nothing worse than cold comfort, pious platitudes, Christian clichés, hopeless homilies and empty emotions when you are hurting! Even genuine sympathy isn’t enough, I know! No, what’s needed is ‘I know what you are going through! I have been through it myself! I got through! There is light at the end of the tunnel, the God of all comfort will comfort you if you pray to Him and hand the situation to Him!’ I have been there so I know, and as best as I can I will share that with you over the next few blogs and hopefully help to bring you some comfort, or if you have been there yourself and are now strong again, then maybe you can pray that the Lord will bring someone along your path who is going through what you have been through and you can strengthen them. God bless John

PRAYER Gracious and loving Father. God of all comfort, solace and consolation. I ask that you would help me to touch peoples lives who may be going through the mill right now. Bring some hurting soul across my path today. Help me to be like the Samaritan who stopped and found time for one suffering soul; help me not to be like the religious men who passed by on the other side. Thank you Father. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

