THOUGHT FORTHE DAY

* 2 Corinthians 1:3-4 “Thank God the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ that He is our Father and the source of all comfort. For He gives us comfort in all our trials so that we in turn may be able to give the same sort of strong sympathy to others in their troubles that we receive from God”.

I will look a little more at this subject of being comforted by God to in our time of pain, suffering and heartache so we may comfort others in their time of need. I closed my last post with this last thought-

[Now, I not only know how it feels, but can share my experience with those going through it themselves and hopefully bring them some comfort! O.k. then, did God put me through what I went through so I could comfort others? Would He really do that? ]

I also looked a little at the book of Job in the Bible; listen to what he said about his suffering and pain! “though he slay me, yet shall I trust Him” [Job 13:15] and  “but He knows my way, and when He has tested me like gold in a fire He will pronounce me innocent” [Job 23:10]

The question is ‘was it really God making Job suffer?’ And ‘was it God’s perfect will to make Job suffer, or His permitted will?’ Ok let’s bring it closer to home! Was it God’s will for you and I to go through what we went through, or are even now going through what we are presently going through? My take on it is that for Job it was God’s permitted will, that’s quite obvious from Job chapters 1 and 2! For myself what I have been through I would also say it was God’s permitted will and not His perfect will! Did He know I would go through it? Of course He did! He is Omniscient! Like with Job God knows the end from the beginning, and God did bring Job forth as Gold and doubly blessed Him, and therefore God not only knew what I would go through, He saw the [good] end results and thus, permitted me to go through it! He allowed these lesser troubles for a greater cause! Listen to Paul’s take on it “this is why we never give up. Though our bodies are dying, our spirit’s are being renewed every day. For our present light and momentary troubles won’t last long. Yet they produce for us an immeasurably great glory that will last forever!” [2 Corinthians 4:16-17]

In God’s Kingdom everything is redeemable, even suffering, heartache and pain. God’s plan of redemption was is and ever will be His perfect will! It was God’s perfect will to bring about the incarnation, crucifixion, resurrection, ascension and glorification of Christ, and look what he went through! God, I believe allows us to go through certain experiences so that we become more empathetic to others needs and sufferings! After all that Job suffered at the hands of his so called friends, yet in the end Job prayed for them! That’s redemption, bringing forth good out of bad. After Zacchaeus was confronted by Jesus and his sin exposed he gave away most of his wealth to the poor! He came forth as gold! That’s redemption! What you and I sometimes go through is not God’s perfect will! It’s life, it’s others who are out of kilt with God and hurt us! It’s often our own stupid choices, and yet, it’s all redeemable! God can work all things for good to those who love Him! I’ll look at that next time.

PRAYER Gracious and merciful God. I thank you for your perfect plan of redemption through Christ for in it is my salvation. I thank you also for your permissive will, for by it you redeem all my mistakes, pain and heartache and turn them into something good. Father in the words of that beautiful chorus you did this in me “something beautiful something good, all my confusion you understood, all I had to offer you was brokenness and strife but you made something beautiful out of my life”. Thank you Jesus. Amen.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

