THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

COMFORT2COMFORT

Psalm 40:1-3 ‘When I waited patiently for God to help me, then He listened and heard my cry. He lifted me out of a pit of despair, out from the swamp and mire, and set my feet on a rock and steadied me on a firm path as I walked along. He has given me a new song to sing, of praise to our God. Now many will hear of the glorious things he has done for me and stand in awe before the Lord and put their trust in Him’.

I think this psalm sums up perfectly everything I have said so far. The psalmist was in a dark and dreary experience and obviously down and depressed, desperate and unable to do anything for himself. That’s exactly how it was for me in my time of despair! I’ll spend a few days looking at this psalm and applying it. Note firstly that it was [when] the psalmist waited patiently for the Lord that the Lord heard his cry! I am guessing that like me, the psalmist ended up in the miry clay, [the sinking sand], because he failed to wait patiently for the Lord to direct him! That has certainly been the case for me. Or maybe like Jonah you went the exact opposite way to God’s leading and ended up at the darkest and dankest part of the boat [YOUR LIFE]!

Note secondly that it was after the psalmist waited that the Lord [then] heard his cry and answered his prayer. We often believe or think it’s us who are waiting for God, but quite often it’s He who is waiting for us! And note thirdly that after we have waited for the Lord and He has answered and rescued us that the [now] happens, people see what has happened to us, they [1] hear our personal testimony, [2] they stand amazed at what God has done for us, and [3] they will put their trust in the Lord. The experience leads to blessing and comfort of others!

So, in this psalm and most likely in our experience, we have a WHEN, THEN, and NOW experience in life and with the Lord! I’ll look at all three in the next blogs!

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

  1. Kim says:

    Thankyou….speaks straight to my heart and circumstances Again x

  2. Colin Tanner says:

    Another inspiring blog, thanks for sharing John!

Leave a Reply

