THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

Patient

Psalm 40:1-3 ‘When I waited patiently for God to help me, then He listened and heard my cry. He lifted me out of a pit of despair, out from the swamp and mire, and set my feet on a rock and steadied me on a firm path as I walked along. He has given me a new song to sing, of praise to our God. Now many will hear of the glorious things he has done for me and stand in awe before the Lord and put their trust in Him’.

‘Then He listened and heard my cry.’ We need to understand that it’s not just us who wait for God; He also has to wait for us! I gave you an illustration of someone in quick sand who needs to be perfectly still till they are rescued! It’s similar with someone drowning, if you try to save him or her whilst they still have strength, they’re likely to take you under with them. You have two options: [1] you wait till they’re about to go under and have no strength to struggle and hold on to you and take you down with them, or [2] you knock them unconscious! Both are extreme measures; yes, but it’s the same with us! The more WE struggle, the less God can do. He waits till we are desperate and at the end of our rope! It’s then we cry out to Him and wait till He rescues us!

Let’s say for example [hypothetically] you hate your job; you are praying to go somewhere else. God has a perfect place for you to go, but the person there won’t be retiring for another 6 months. Just 6 months! But you don’t know that! All you know is the inner gut feeling and scriptures that God is saying wait, but you don’t! Something else crops up and you think that’s the job for you, even though you have a niggling inside saying no! You go for that job miss God’s best and in 12 months time you’re back to square one! You hate the job you are doing! Has that person missed God’s purpose in life? Temporarily I think yes, I believe so! However, as said in an earlier post, everything is redeemable, and God can ‘restore the years the locust has eaten’. What this hypothetical person has experienced is missing God’s best and opting for second or even third best!

Though I have used a hypothetical example, the fact is, I have been in that situation more than once! With ministry, work and relationships! Will I get back to God’s first best? Yes, of course! I already have with ministry in worship and to a degree with work! The point is, not only do I/we miss out on God’s best, He misses out on His best for us, and others miss out too because if we are where we should be and are doing what we should be doing, then everyone benefits and are blessed! Jonah is a classic example, he refused God’s best at first, he ended up at the bottom of a ship in a dark, dank hold, the people on deck were suffering great loss because of Jonah’s disobedience, [the Ninevites were about to be annihilated because of Jonah’s disobedience] the sailors lost their goods and almost lost their lives, and Jonah just slept through it all! Eventually Jonah ended up not just at the bottom of the boat and not just at the bottom of the ocean but then in the bottom of a big fishes stinking gut! Then Jonah repented and ended up going and doing what he was called to do in the first place, and a whole nation was blessed because of him!

God is very patient and is patiently waiting for us to wait for Him and His best! I know that’s where I am in a particular situation! How about you?

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

