THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

COMFORT 2 COMFORT

Psalm 40:1-3 ‘When I waited patiently for God to help me, then He listened and heard my cry. He lifted me out of a pit of despair, out from the swamp and mire, and set my feet on a rock and steadied me on a firm path as I walked along. He has given me a new song to sing, of praise to our God. Now many will hear of the glorious things he has done for me and stand in awe before the Lord and put their trust in Him’.

‘He lifted me out of a pit of despair, out from the swamp and mire’.  When we patiently wait for God to act, He THEN works on our behalf! I can’t remember the exact day when I felt God had reached down and drew me out of my horrible pit of despair! I remember little glimmers of light as the word of God began to open up to me again and as I heard certain messages [especially Joyce Meyer’s telecasts and her personal testimonies!] And times when God would send someone to me and give me a specific word from the Lord, and of course the ever-perennial Word For Today from Bob Gass!

But there was a change! The despair had lifted and was replaced by hope! I began to smile again, to sing and actually feel happy at times! I knew God wanted more for my life and that He hadn’t finished with me yet, nor ever would! I guess if I could come up with a statement of the whole scenario it would be “from the pit to purpose, from hopelessness to hope, from bitter to sweet and from to dark to light” I eventually came off antidepressants, never to return to them, and as I began to grow strong in the word, prayer and the Spirit again, and as the weariness began to leave my body and soul and as God began to refresh, restore and revive me again, so doors of opportunity opened and The Lord slowly brought me back in to the fight again. I began to think and analyse what had happened and what I had been through and why perhaps it happened in the first place! I guess my conclusion was simple, ‘I had strayed from God’s perfect will for my life, I had made certain choices and decisions based on what I wanted or thought was right, and then I had to suffer the consequences. God did not make me suffer; my own actions and choices did! I brought the whole thing on myself!’

BUT GOD still came to my rescue, He in fact ran to me, held me in His arms, kissed me, welcomed me home and restored the robe of righteousness upon me, put the ring of sonship and authority on my finger and put new sandals on my feet, which represent a new and clean walk, then He threw a party for me, yeehah! I the prodigal who should’ve been Horse whipped for my stupidity had redemptive love lavished upon me by my loving, compassionate, merciful and forgiving Father God. Now, if He’ll do that for me, He will sure do it for you too. I plead with you hang in there! You will come through this and be stronger and be able to help more people because of it! “When you PASS THROUGH deep waters, I am with you, when you PASS THROUGH Rivers, they will not sweep you away! When you WALK THROUGH fire you will not be scorched, when you GO THROUGH flames they will not burn you. [Isaiah 43:2]

PRAYER. Gracious and loving Father, I thank you that whatever we are going through, we are only going through it, and not remaining in it! And we don’t go through it alone; you go through it with us! We only go through the valley of the shadow of death, and you the Great Shepherd go through it with us and bring us safely out the other side. Through troubled waters and rivers of despair, storms of sorrow and fiery trials, you take us through them and bring us out the other side. Thank you for bringing me through my tempestuous trial and raging river of despair. Help me if I can to help even one to go through and come out stronger. I ask this in Jesus’ name. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

  1. Kim says:

    This gives me hope John, Thankyou, i usually look back on these kind of hard times and think what a wuss i was, but this writing has come to me me in the midst of a hard place and given me the strength to lift my head and know that he is with me, and that is all i needed to know x

    • wonderboy57 says:

      Thanks Kim, glad to know I can be of help to folk through what I went through. I have checked out to open mic nite and will more than likely come with Karl! How do I let someone know I’m interested? God bless John

Leave a Reply

