THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

COMFORT 2 COMFORT

Psalm 40:1-3 ‘When I waited patiently for God to help me, then He listened and heard my cry. He lifted me out of a pit of despair, out from the swamp and mire, and set my feet on a rock and steadied me on a firm path as I walked along. He has given me a new song to sing, of praise to our God. Now many will hear of the glorious things he has done for me and stand in awe before the Lord and put their trust in Him’.

‘He lifted me out of a pit of despair, out from the swamp and mire’ and set my feet on a rock and steadied me on a firm path as I walked along.

Some years ago I went white water rafting down the river Isel in Austria. The inflated side of my raft ripped on a rock as we passed over a weir! My feet were strapped in so I was hanging under water being dragged along. I managed to get my feet out so I was in the white water! I couldn’t touch the river bed, but praying and thinking I was about to met the Lord in heaven, I was dragged out very much alive, but it felt wonderful when I stood on Terra Firma and knowing I was safe!

Thankfully I have never been in sinking sand or a swamp, though the above experience was a bit scary! But to be pulled out of sinking sand then stand on rock would be just as much a relief! When I was in my dark pit experience, though there was a pit floor [sym] yet I was slipping and sliding all over the place! My walk with the Lord was wavering; my faith was almost non-existent, my moods and thus my life were as changeable as the English weather! When the Lord lifted me out of my despair, I felt like I was on solid ground again! Though the Psalmist uses the phrase ‘my feet on a rock’, for me it was that God put my feet on The Rock [Christ] and my life and walk gradually got back on track again!

Note the 3 phases once delivered. [1] God sets our feet back on a firm footing! If we are daily following Christ and walking with Him, then we are on a solid footing! That’s His promise! ‘The wise man built his house on the rock! The rain came down, the floods came up BUT that house stood firm!’ [2] ‘He steadied me’. There was for me a time of convalescence even after I was lifted up by the Lord. When I came out of the Isel River I was shaky for quite a while! When I came out of my pit of despair I didn’t go straight back in to the fray! God gave me time to spiritually, physically, psychologically and emotionally recover! IT TOOK TIME! [3] He steadies us as we start walking again. He continues to support us, and thankfully He gives us a second chance to continue the walk! However, we never walk the same way again! Remember Jacob? He walked with a limp after his time of trouble! I’ll look at that a bit more next time, but for now, remember the words of the song from Carousel! ‘Walk on with hope in your heart and you’ll never walk alone!’ Walk today with hope and with God in your heart!’

PRAYER Gracious and loving God. Thank you for lifting me out of my pit of despair and putting my feet back on to a firm footing again. Thank you for Jesus, He is my Rock, and though He was still my Rock even when I was in my despair, I didn’t recognise Him for I now know that I was in a place where I should never have been in the first place. Nevertheless, you are a God of restoration and I thank you for restoring me.  For Jesus sake. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

  1. Kim says:

    Thanks John x

Leave a Reply

