THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

COMFORT 2 COMFORT

Psalm 40:1-3 ‘When I waited patiently for God to help me, then He listened and heard my cry. He lifted me out of a pit of despair, out from the swamp and mire, and set my feet on a rock and steadied me on a firm path as I walked along. He has given me a new song to sing, of praise to our God. Now many will hear of the glorious things he has done for me and stand in awe before the Lord and put their trust in Him’.

Now many will hear of the glorious things he has done for me and stand in awe before the Lord and put their trust in Him’.

So, we come to a close in Psalm 40! These first 3 verses for me tie in beautifully with Romans 8:28! ‘All things work together for good to those who love the Lord, who are called according to His purpose’. Despite the fact that what David was going through was probably a result of some of His own choices, yet God is so gracious He doesn’t say ‘told you so’ or ‘well it’s your own fault!’ Read the story of the prodigal son again; the father never once criticises his son! He doesn’t need to; the son would be making a pretty good job of that himself, with his brother to help things along! [I have been there, and done it!] Oh, and by the way, the older brother represents all brothers and sisters in Christ, especially the older and more mature in the faith. Now, if Christ doesn’t condemn a fallen comrade, then brothers and sisters how dare we? Jesus never criticised the woman caught in adultery, she’d do that herself along with the religious leaders. And when Peter denied Jesus and Jesus looked at him, the look would be one of compassion and forgiveness and not condemnation! Then after the resurrection and Jesus spoke to Peter again, there was no ‘die for me would you? Hah!’ No, God will take all the good things in our life and stir them together with the bad things of our lives and blend them and mix them together so that what comes out in the end is good! ‘His purpose for which He has called us!’

ALL THINGS work together. It’s the ingredients of life and they’re not always nice and just because we are God’s children doesn’t exempt us from trouble, pain and suffering! In fact Jesus thoroughly emphasised that it was our lot in life to experience trouble and pain! ‘In the world you will have troubles, but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world’ [John 16:33]. But in God’s time He will lift us up and out of our troubles and put us on a firm footing, give us a new walk and a fresh, current and lively testimony that will comfort others in the way that we have been comforted! Lastly. It was the house that was built on the rock that stood; the house built on sand fell! [Matthew 7:24-29] But BOTH were hit by the same storm! We may be built on Christ the Rock [1 Corinthians 3:11] but, life’s storms will still hit us, however, it is on Christ the Rock that we stand and so therefore, we will stand and not fall if we put His words in to practice!

[Next time I will be looking at the smelters furnace! The troubles we experience are not for comforting others only! They are also for purifying our lives so that we reflect something of God’s glory! We looked at dealing with disappointment, now we’ll look at ‘the purpose of pain!’ Watch this space!]

PRAYER

Abba, Father. For all we have learned from your word these few weeks we thank you. But your word say’s we are wise if we put them in to practice. Therefore, Help me to practice them so that I may be wise and stand firm when the storms come! For the sake of Jesus that he may see fruit in my life for the suffering of His soul. Amen.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

  1. Kim says:

    Always your words give me hope and a clip round the earhole……then a hug, thankyou John x

  2. Kim says:

    Hahahahahahahaha….wot a lad you are x

Leave a Reply

