REFINER’S FIRE

THE CRUCIBLE OF LIFE

[Job 3:25]. “What I always feared has come upon me. What I dreaded has come to be.”

Last time, I finished with the above verse and asked you to think about it! For me, this was Job’s Achilles heel! He feared losing everything despite keeping a clean slate with God. All the principles by which Job lived were crumbling, and Job began to lose perspective. “God was still in control”, but FEAR was blinding Job to God’s eternal love and care. Fear is negative faith, it’s a belief, but for the wrong things, negative things! Despite Job’s faithfulness, there were still things buried in him that needed to come out! It is no different for me, and I guess you may have to agree also?

This I believe is where the refiners fire comes in. Listen to this “For God is like a blazing fire refining precious metal – like a refiner of silver He will sit and closely watch as the dross is burned away. He will purify the Levites [His servants], the ministers of God, refining them like gold and silver SO THAT they will do their work for God with pure hearts.” The phrase ‘so that’, gives us the reason for the season! God refines us in the fire so that our hearts become more pure, or in other words, ‘we serve Him with the right motives!’ I can’t speak for Job, but I can look back in hindsight after my times in the crucible of God’s refining fire and see that my motives were not always the right ones. And even now I have to keep checking what my motives are for doing things for God.

It seems to me from the text that though Job’s integrity was in tact, there were some hidden doubts and fears! He was speaking them out from the hidden place in his heart! [From out of the wellspring of the heart the mouth speaks Matt 12:34 / Mark 7:21]. That which is hidden in our hearts we may not even be aware of, but God is, and he knows we cannot progress until they are dealt with and the only way they can be dealt with is by bringing them out of hiding, and to the surface of our conscious mind so that they can be removed! This is how gold and silver are refined in the fiery crucible! We’ll look at that next time!

PRAYER Gracious and loving Father God. I thank you that one of your names is Jehovah El Roi, the Lord God who sees all things. I thank you that when you look at me it is with love and delight, not disappointment and grief! I know you hate some of the stuff in my life, but you don’t hate me. I know it must break your heart at times when I fear and doubt and act without faith, but you are still faithful and will never forsake me. For that I am ever grateful and thank you. I love you Father God and because you love me so much you will ever put me in the crucible of fiery trials till my span on earth is complete so that I may reflect more and more of you. Thank you God. Amen.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to REFINER’S FIRE

  1. Kim says:

    Beautiful, Lifechanging, Headlifting, Freedom giving, Hopeseeing words..thankyou.x : ) x

Leave a Reply

