THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

PSALMS, PROVERBS AND PARABLES

Over the next week or so, I will be sharing some thoughts from my favourite topics of meditation from my favourite places for meditation in the Bible

Psalm 61.2 ‘for wherever I am, though faraway at the ends of the earth, I will cry out to you for help. When my heart is faint, overwhelmed and weary, lead me to the mighty towering rock of safety.’ No matter where I am geographically or spiritually, God is always there and is only a prayer away. Some folk just go to Church or Temple to meet Him, but we can meet Him anywhere as well as Church! I meet Him in my garden or a walk in the countryside or in my favourite armchair place of devotion. God is in all places at all times; that’s very comforting to know

When David’s heart was faint, weary and overwhelmed he reached out to God, he prayed to be lead to the mighty towering rock of safety! It is so sad today that so many have to reach out to tranquillisers, anti-depressants, the bottle and drugs to keep from going under. I know it’s hard out there, God knows it’s hard, and I too reached out for anti-depressants once, however, God is but a whisper away! Even if you can’t cry out to Him, He will hear the silent cry of your heart

Verse 3. ‘For you are my refuge, a high tower where my enemies can’t ever reach me.’ God is our refuge and high tower, so run to Him, go inside and your enemies cannot touch you, they will have to get through Him first, and there’s no chance of that! The enemy will still be around, be it depression, debt, divorce or the devil. But in Him you will find safety, strength and succour, and when you come back out, you may see things in a different light and from a changed perspective! That’s my own experience at least.

Verse 6. ‘You will give me added years of life as full and as rich as many generations packed in to one’ By turning to God at every turn and trying not to rely on substances and worrying, I personally believe will add years to your life. The Bible clearly teaches this and the medical profession over the last few years are beginning to be inclined to agree! Drugs, chemicals, excessive alcohol, worrying and mithering age us! Seeing a friend younger than me yet looking 20 years older and then see him die was not nice. The best pill and antidote for depression, stress, hopelessness and despair is Philippians 4:6-7. I am under the impression that mental and heart related illnesses are some of the biggest killers in today’s society? Note in verse 7 the two areas that trust in God, prayer and thanksgiving bring peace to!

TO DO

Read, memorize and meditate upon Phil 4:6-7, and then apply it and pray it through for yourself!

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

  1. Kim says:

    Thanks John, i need to remember to thank God, something i forget to do often, thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

