THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

PSALMS, PROVERBS AND PARABLES

 WORK HARD

Proverbs 12. [Verse 9] ‘It is better to get your hands dirty-and eat, than to be too proud to work-and starve.’ [Verse 11] ‘Hard work means prosperity, only a fool idles his time away’. [Verse14] ‘Hard work returns many blessings’.

In the book of proverbs, the author/s often make contrasts between right things and wrong things and the ensuing consequences of those choices! In Proverbs and Ecclesiastes, Solomon extols hard work and shows it is good for our health and bank balance to work hard! Please note however, that the Bible doesn’t extol us becoming workaholics, or working late hours that keep us away from our family and loved ones just so we can earn another buck!

I love the book of Genesis. I call it the book of firsts! Have you noticed the first thing God did for Adam was to give him a job! Something creative to do with his hands! ‘The Lord God placed the man in the garden to tend and care for it’. [Genesis 2:15] The first thing God did was to give Adam a purpose, something creative and meaningful to do! We all crave meaning, value and significance in life. I want to make a difference in this life! I want to return to Jesus having done something of value, worth and significance! I personally believe this will be work related, be it in my secular job, leading worship, teaching, singing at open mic nights and care homes! It is all work whether paid or not! But the sense of having done something for others, God and myself is very satisfying! God has created us in His likeness! He is a creator! He has never stopped working! Jesus is still working in heaven through intercession, and Holy Spirit works in our lives and the Church daily

Now I know we all possibly won’t get the perfect job; but listen to Solomon again in Ecclesiastes! ‘So I saw that there is nothing better for us to do than to be happy in our work for that is what we are here for’ [Ecclesiastes 3:22] Something of God’s attitude is in us to want to work! I hated it when I was out of work for 6 months, and so I did voluntary work and did a course! There’s a driving force in us to want to work, to be useful and use our God given abilities and skills. Solomon also say’s ‘Well, one thing at least is good: It is for a person to eat well, drink a good glass of wine, accept his position in life and enjoy his work, whatever his job may be and for however long the Lord may let him live’. [Ecclesiastes 5:18] He also say’s ‘whatever your hands find to do-do it well, and with all your heart, for in death, where you are going, there is neither planning nor working, or knowing nor understanding’. [Ecclesiastes 9:10] Now we know since we live in post Calvary that there is work to do after death, Jesus is working! We will have work to do in the millennial kingdom and for eternity, though exactly what that will look like we don’t fully know! However, the point Solomon is making is that we ought to work with all our heart and whatever our hands find to do, to do it well!

Now I know there are some of you who want work, but can’t find it, well all I can say is you have got to keep praying and searching! I did and I eventually got work! My brother has not stopped searching daily and now he has an opportunity for a job. The Bible calls it ‘importunity!’ You tenaciously strive at prayer and seeking till the answer comes! God wants all His children to be busy and actively using what He has deposited and invested in us. So my suggestion to you would be to pray like you never have prayed before! Get a mental image of yourself working, then thank God for that job even before you have got it!

PRAYER Heavenly Father God. Thank you for all the work you have given to me, and for the work yet to come. I thank you for every opportunity I have to use my skills, talents, gifts and abilities. Help me O God not only to use the talents you have invested in me, but to also multiply them like in the parable of the talents! I pray O God, Abba Father that my brother Pete will get the job he’s going for on Wednesday, and for everyone of your children who are at this time out of work. I pray for open doors of opportunity for them. Thank you Lord. Amen.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

