THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

PSALMS, PROVERBS AND PARABLES

PARABLES [The talents]

Matthew 25:14-30 ‘again, it will be like a man going on a journey who called his servants and entrusted his property to them’. [vs 14] the word ‘again’ tells us there is a link to the previous verses! This parable is tied in to the previous parable of the 10 virgins [maidens]. The whole of Matthew 25 is Jesus’ teaching about His return. The parable of the 10 virgins links in with Matthew 24 ‘the Olivet discourse on Christ’s return!’ And so, we have to keep this entire context in mind as we look at the parable of the talents! Thus, chapter’s 24-25 of Matthew teach about the 2nd coming of Christ and how we [Christ’s servants] should live in the light of these truths!

The man going on the journey and the Bridegroom of verses 1-13 are the same person! ‘The Lord Jesus Christ!’ Christ was on a journey when He left heaven and came to earth. On earth and right up to His ascension He was on a journey, a mission! However, even now in heaven, He continues that journey through His body [the Church] and His journey will climax at His 2nd advent. However, before He left this earth on His way back to heaven He entrusted His possessions to His chosen ones, you and I! Please note the phrase, “his property”, “his possessions”, “and his goods!” The key theme here is that the talents, goods, money, etc, belonged to the man, the noble man, ‘the King!’ They were his to give as he chose, and they were to be returned to him with interest and increase upon his return from his journey! So, whatever talent/s, property, possessions, money, gifts, skills and abilities we have, “THEY ARE NOT OURS!” We came in to this world naked and we shall leave it thus! All of our substance is borrowed from God! It is all from Him and shall one day return to Him! However as the parable teaches, whilst we are on this earth He expects us to put our talents to use and increase His returns through them. We will look at that some more next time I look at parables!

PRAYER Heavenly Father God. Thank you for all the gifts, talents, possessions, skills and abilities you have given to me, and for the opportunities yet to come to put them to use. Father, when opportunity knocks, help me to be swift to open the door!  I thank you for every opportunity I have to use my skills, talents, giftings and abilities. Help me O God not only to use the talents you have invested in me, but to also multiply them like in the parable of the talents! Gracious Father, I acknowledge that all I am and all I have is from you and belongs to you and will one day be returned back to you! Help me I pray Lord Jesus to wisely invest and put to use all you have entrusted to me so that you will have double that which you have entrusted to me. Lord Jesus, I pray you will receive fruit from my life for the sufferings of your soul. I pray O God, Abba Father for every one of your children for open doors of opportunity for them also. Thank you Lord. Amen.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

  1. Kim says:

    Thanks John : ) x

Leave a Reply

