THOUGHTS FOR CHRISTMAS

DAY 8

LIGHT OF THE WORLD

Light of the World PowerPoint

‘But in the latter time He will make it glorious, by the way of the sea of Galilee the land beyond the Jordan, Galilee of the nations. The people who walked in darkness have seen a great light; those who dwelt in the land of intense darkness and the shadow of death, upon them has the Light shone’. [Isaiah 9:1-2]

Whilst reading the above verses, I find it easy to kinda feel sorry for the Gentiles, [probably because I was one!], but also because the Jews were not very good witnesses of God’s mercy love and grace. I guess looking back at 2000 plus years of Church History; our story isn’t much different is it? Never the less, as I was meditating upon these verses the Holy Spirit reminded me of the words of Paul, [Oh, as an aside, notice it was whilst thinking much on the verses that Holy spirit spoke to me! In the New Year I’ll be doing a post on Biblical mediation!]

Paul wrote in Romans 1:20-21 ‘since earliest times men have seen all of creation, earth and sky, and have known of His existence and great eternal power. So they will have no excuse [when they stand before God at judgement day]. Yes, they knew all about Him, but they wouldn’t admit it or worship Him or even thank Him for His daily care.’

Basically it is all about choice! We choose light or reject it and remain in darkness! We choose God or reject Him and remain in darkness. As Christians we have the light of the world living in our hearts so positionally we will never walk in darkness but ever have the Light of Life! However, experientially, we daily need to stay in God’s word to walk in the Light! ‘Thy word is a lamp to my feet and a Light to my path’. [Psalm 119:10] Therefore

1.  We as Christians have a choice. We may have the Light of the world within us, but we daily need God’s word to sustain and guide us. [Give us this day our daily bread/man shall not live on bread alone but on the very word of God’]

2.  We are now God’s witnesses since the Jews rejected Jesus at the cross. We are God’s ambassadors, could we at least make an effort to represent Him better than the Jews did at the first advent, and especially as His second advent draws nearer!

3.  Jesus said, ‘you are the light of the world’. Shall we seek this Christmas time to spread the light to those living in the land of darkness?

PRAYER Heavenly Father God. Thank you for this wonderful scripture that you care for and love all people, both Jew and Gentile! Thank you that you have shone your light in to the intense darkness of this world and brought us to your marvellous light. Thank you that Jesus was born in to the darkness of this world to shine your great light and thank you that you shone your glorious light in to the darkness of my heart. God I thank you and bless you. “LIGHT OF THE WORLD YOU STEPPED DOWN IN TO DARKNESS, OPENNED MY EYES LET ME SEE. HERE I AM TO WORSHIP, HERE I AM TO BOW DOWN, AND HERE I AM TO SAY THAT YOU’RE MY GOD. I bless you and love you Father. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

