THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

BIBLICAL MEDITATION

THE BENEFITS OF MEDITATION.

I believe the benefits of Biblical meditation are manifold, but lets just stick to what God says about it! Psalm 1. Read the whole psalm, but note specifically verses 2b –3 “day and night they are always meditating on His word and thinking about ways of following Him more closely. They are like trees planted along a riverbank bearing luscious fruit each season without fail. Their leaves never whither, and all they do shall prosper”.

God through the Psalmist tells us what we can be like if we regularly digest and re-digest His word!

‘They are like trees along a riverbank’. Trees along a riverbank have a constant supply of water and nutrients and so they are always fresh, vibrant, lively, exuberant and extravagant! They always have something to give, they are always full, upright, strong and never lacking! I believe that this for the Christian should be the norm if they are full of God’s word [and Spirit of course]! Do you know Christians who are like this? I do and their secret [which by the way is no secret because it’s been revealed to us by God] is Biblical meditation.

‘Bearing luscious fruit each season without fail’. This means continual fruitfulness. This goes against nature because there are specific seasons for specific fruits; however, if we are continually drawing upon the word of God, if it is rich in our hearts, then our hearts will be rich, fruitful and bountiful continually, always having something to give. This too has a spiritual and natural application! We will be fruitful to God [a blessing to Him] and fruitful from God, [a blessing to others]. I love fruit for the obvious reason, but fruit can be seen as two fold! Firstly it feeds others! And secondly it produces seed so that it can multiply. God can make us fruitful to be a blessing, then that blessing comes back to us so that we can be more fruitful so that we can be even more fruitful to others, and so the cycle can continue and multiply if we continue in His word!

‘Their leaves never whither and all they do shall prosper’. Leaves give the trees shape, form, colour, identification, and benefits of shade in the heat of the day. Leaves are also spoken of biblically as for ‘the healing of the nations’. I believe this is telling us that there is spiritual and natural health to those who seriously meditate on Gods word. Again I have met these people and their eyes shine, they look, talk and exude health. It doesn’t mean that those who don’t meditate are unhealthy or that those who do are free from illness, but there is just some special vibrancy about them or at least that’s my experience of the ones I’ve met! These trees stand out, there’s a healthiness and wholeness about them and they are a healing balm to be around! Something just rubs off them on to you! And it seems also that whatever they do or touch prospers! It doesn’t mean they don’t have problems; but they just go right through them and press on unscathed.

Well, I’m sure there’s much more to uncover in this Psalm, but I’m not going to do all the work for you because then it’s just milk, so get digging and get chewing, eat some meat and see what you can find, and hey; share it with someone and be a blessing as well as being blessed. 🙂

PRAYER Heavenly Father God, help me to meditate on your word as often as I can. I really want to be like that tree, ever fresh, always fruitful, having some shape, purpose and form to my life and whatever I do to be successful in it. Thank you Father God.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

