THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

BIBLICAL MEDITATION

BIBLICAL MEDITATION

We take a final look at Biblical meditation by summarising and concluding the study.

Firstly, we remind ourselves that Biblical meditation is filling ones mind with the word of God and not emptying it out! There will be no peace in that only inner turmoil as only God’s word can bring true inner peace!

Secondly, it is likened to the cow chewing the cud! A cow’s stomach has 4 compartments of which we looked at in an earlier study; and I named 4 areas we can use in our meditations, though there are many more if you so choose to use them! Mine if you remember were:
· WHAT DOES IT SAY ABOUT GOD?
· WHAT DOES IT SAY ABOUT ME?
· WHAT DOES IT SAY ABOUT FAMILY AND FRIENDS
· WHAT DOES IT SAY ABOUT AQUAINTENCES AND THE WORLD IN GENERAL

I would also like to think of meditation as being like a diamond whose beauty lies in its many facets! You can look at a diamond from different angles or sides and see something different every time! So too in God’s word, you can ponder it, chew some goodness from it and then go back a week later and see something totally different! That’s Biblical meditation.

Thirdly, we looked at the phrase ‘Jesus wept’ and drew a lot of different facets from that scripture. You can maybe go back to it again and see if you observe something you maybe missed before?

Fourthly, we looked at different translations and that just sticking to one translation can rob you of the richness of God’s word. There’s nothing wrong with a certain translation, but you may derive different shades and colours of meaning from the use of other ones! Again a bit like the diamond, a diamond with one side [if that’s possible?] may be beautiful, but one with many facets will be startling!

Fifthly, we looked at that in practice with the four Greek words for love!
Agape, Éros, Philia and Storge!

Sixthly, we saw this in practice with agape love and philia love, in the account of Jesus’ reinstating of Peter.

Lastly, we looked at Psalm 1 and saw the benefits, blessings and rewards there are to be derived from Biblical meditation.

Conclusion. I have come to one conclusion, and that is that God longs for us to meditate upon His word for in it He is able to impart far more knowledge and wisdom to us through it than if we skim over the surface and make shallow digging of it! Also, there are personal, spiritual and physical benefits and blessings through it, the Bible is quite clear on that! I am of the opinion that those who do make a regular habit of Bible meditation are more at peace within themselves and have a closer and more intimate relationship with the Master and are generally givers rather than takers in Church and life in general! However, let me reiterate, that’s only my opinion through my observations. I may be totally wrong! :=)

Well then, that’s my study completed. So then, next time I’ll be back to PSALMS, PROVERBS AND PRAYERS. Be seeing you!

PRAYER Heavenly Father God, help me to meditate on your word as often as I can. I really want to be like a tree, ever fresh, always fruitful, having some shape, purpose and form to my life and whatever I do to be successful in it. Thank you Father God. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

  1. Kim says:

    Thanks again John, I look forward to the next instalment : ) x

Leave a Reply

