A BLACK COUNTRY GARDENER [in Stratford on Avon]

THE DIARY OF A BLACK COUNTRY GARDENER
[in Stratford Upon Avon]

JANUARY 28th 2013

Cartoon gardener with watering can - vector illustration  Stock Photo - 13356136

Hi there. Here’s a sentence from the last post. “I hope you are enjoying the last few hours of this early spring as a cold snap is at our door!” And boy, didn’t winter come in like a lion the next day or so!

Anyway, thankfully all that horrible white stuff has gone and I can get back to my preparations for spring again! Despite the cold and snow, I’ve still got a little colour in the beds, and I have two newcomers! My Aconites are just starting to bloom and the first Ranunculus has popped his head up. You’ll see them below in fig 1 and 2.

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=23e17e23b2&view=att&th=13c830051a103909&attid=0.1&disp=inline&realattid=1425441979945189376-1&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P_GJYfG2Ec0F6uCiGq1E6fu&sadet=1359408152313&sads=kes-wSy7oHBidbeg1A5KzZuulZ4&sadssc=1

Fig 1 Aconites

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=23e17e23b2&view=att&th=13c830697bb907f9&attid=0.1&disp=inline&realattid=1425442026268131328-1&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P_GJYfG2Ec0F6uCiGq1E6fu&sadet=1359408448106&sads=HoYKVEYWwBHotT0u8SRUxO5HXyQ

Fig 2 Ranunculus ficaria [Lesser Celendine]

I was also able to get to the Rowan that’s suffered last year because of too much rain; it was like the giant bean sprout in Jack and the beanstalk! When I climbed up the ladder to pollard it I was half expecting and hoping too see a giants castle with some treasure! Sorry to say, ‘no treasure’ however, Doug called me over and gave me a nice hot cuppa and a chocolate biscuit! Who needs a singing harp and a hen that lays golden eggs when I have golden clients to work for! Actually I have a Doug joke! “What do you call a man who works hard digging gardens? Doug!” [Dug] And “what do you call a man who doesn’t work hard digging gardens? Douglas!” [Dug less]

Well, that’s about it for now. Oh, I soaked my first peas on Sunday and put them in a tray under glass today after they had swollen over night. I use ‘early onwards’ because as the name implies, you can start them early and grow them and continue to sow them till summer! In fact you can make last sowings through May and get crops as late as August and even later! Oooow!!

 

Anyway, if you need a gardener, or just want to ask a question please contact me on this post, on my face book page [John Wunderlich (Rowley Regis) or on johnkarlw@gmail.com, happy gardening. J

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

