THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

PSALMS, PROVERBS AND PARABLES

PARABLE OF THE TALENTS

Matthew 25:14-30 ‘again, it will be like a man going on a journey who called his servants and entrusted his property to them to each one he gave talents’.

1 Corinthians 3:5 ‘who am I? And who is Apollos, that we should be the cause of a quarrel? Why, we’re just God’s servants, EACH OF US WITH CERTAIN ABILITIES!’

Paul here is dealing with immaturity in believers and sets off to cut out this rot from the start and getting things in perspective! It’s about God not man! Just as in the parable of the talents, it’s all about the King not the servants! Paul may have looked the Bees knees and Apollos a good second, but it’s not about them! The servant with the 5 talents may have looked the king pin, and the one with the 2 talents a good second, but again it’s not about the servants, it’s all about the Master!

To conclude this parable may take two or three studies! It is important to understand that the parable itself is not a doctrine, but an analogy, explanation or visual aid to help understand the doctrine! The doctrine is REWARDS and LOSSES for those who belong to and serve the King and experience rewards or losses at the time of His return. Depending if you are pre-tribulationist or post-tribulationist will determine when that happens! [But that’s another study!]

The main doctrine is found in 1 Corinthians 3:1-15. Paul firstly establishes that God is in control; He is Sovereign and the Head of all things. Paul reminds us that though we have specific jobs to do and certain talents and abilities to do them, the results and final outcomes are God’s not ours to decide! Paul may sow the word, Apollos may water it, but the growth, increase and outcomes are in God’s hands! The size of the harvest, the quality of the fruit, the freshness of the vegetables is God’s to decide not men despite man’s pathetic interferences! ( Sorry, that’s my beef about interference in the natural process of growing crops!) Similarly, in the parable of the talents, it is the King who is pre-eminent and not the servants neither their works or rewards or losses!

Jesus is the King who departs to another country. [Heaven] and one day will return to [earth] to gather His servants to Himself. At that time (when we gather before Him at the Bema seat judgement) He not us, will be the centre of attention! Although the whole thing will be about what we have or haven’t done with what He invested in us, nevertheless it is still all about HIM!

Next time we will look at the Rock foundation, which is all about Christ! Also we will look at the doctrine of the Apostles, which is the footings, and the superstructure [house], which is what we build upon the foundations with our good or selfish works.

PRAYER gracious loving Father. You have invested so much in my life, in our lives. I long to serve you more, I long to see that which you have invested in me increase exponentially! So heavenly Father I ask for more of your Spirit for through Him I can do all things, for it is not by might nor by power but by your Spirit, Lord God. I pray also that you would constantly remind me that it’s all about you and not me. Thank you Lord. Amen.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

