A BLACK COUNTRY GARDENER [in Stratford On Avon]

THE DIARY OF A BLACK COUNTRY GARDENER
[in Stratford Upon Avon]

JANUARY 31st 2013

Cartoon gardener with watering can - vector illustration  Stock Photo - 13356136

A DIARY OF A BLACKCOUNTRY GARDENER
[in Stratford Upon Avon]

Hi. Today was a great day for gardening at the Bentley Stratford. Blue skies, sunshine and actually, out of the shade and when the wind dropped it was quite warm. We are hoping to have a raised bed made so that some of the residents who like gardening can come outside when the weather is more clement and have a potter around. So, on the off chance that this event occurs, I have sown a few vegetable seeds so that there will be some ready plants to go in the bed. I sowed little Gem lettuce under glass, if you want to taste what a lettuce should really taste like, then grow little Gems in good fertile soil, and you’ll never buy the supermarket ones again! And with a little thought and planning, they can be grown almost all the year round!

To complement the lettuce I sowed two types of tomato. The gardener’s delight, which is a robust and prolific cherry type tomato and grown in rich [high in humus] soil, [and not that hydroponics rubbish]; will produce some of the sweetest and tastiest tomatoes you could eat, and in fact they actually taste like a tomato should taste! The other tomato I sowed is Marmande. This is a beef tomato and is not so easy to grow, but with an early sowing and lots of patience [and potash once the first trusses set] you’ll have the tastiest tomatoes imaginable! However, the pots in which I started these off in had to come home with myself, as there is nowhere warm for them to germinate at the centre. Just sow per instructions and cover with cling film to retain moisture till the shoots appear.

There have a few more plants opened up in the gardens and the aconites have responded nicely to the sunshine by opening up their little heads. See below.

DSC_0114.JPG                     DSC_0111.JPG

Snowdrop                                          Primula

DSC_0113.JPG                     DSC_0112.JPG

Helleborus [orientalis]                       Helleborus [foetidus]

DSC_0110.JPG       DSC_0109.JPG

Helleborus [winter Rose]                   Helleborus [white and red]

DSC_0108.JPG                         DSC_0117.JPG

Aconites [opened]                                   Early Iris’s

Well, it’s the 1st of Feb and I didn’t go to Stratford as they forecast rain all day from early morning to early evening! LOL, still can’t get it right can they. I have decided to call them the “WHETHER MEN” Because they don’t know whether it’s going to snow, or be sunny or rain or what? I have no faith in them whatsoever. However, the upside to this is that I can see some of my own flowers opening up to this nice bit of sun. See below!

DSC_0119.JPG     DSC_0120.JPG

Primula [wanda]                                Iberis [perennial candytuft]

DSC_0121.JPG      DSC_0122.JPG

Viola                                                      Primrose

DSC_0123.JPG   DSC_0125.JPG

First Crocus’s                                   Viola, Primula and Crocus

Anyway, if you need a gardener, or just want to ask a question please contact me on this post, on my face book page [John Wunderlich Rowley Regis] or on johnkarlw@gmail.com, happy gardening. J

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in A DIARY OF A BLACKCONTRY GARDENER [in Stratford] and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

