MICRO LIGHT BITES

STOPS, PAUSES AND RESTS

Different musical rest lengths. 

‘COME AWAY WITH ME AND REST A WHILE’. [Mark 6:31]

Happy day, I’m away at the farm in Ullenhall today for a week of rest, though I’ll still work in the week, yet it’ll be a change and I’ll go for nice quiet walks too. It’s time to get away and we all need that, Jesus did also and He made sure He always did! We need at times to refresh our batteries and mine are decidedly low!

Have you ever noticed in a piece of music or if you listen to classical music that there are lots of rests, pauses and stops? These are just as much a part of music as the played notes and if there were no rests in music it would be just one continuous cacophany of noise! Hmm, does that ring a bell? Life is like that too! But it should not all be do this, go there, must fit this in, or I must accomplish that today! There need to be times of rest, we need at times to stop! Listen to what Richard Foster say’s: “in our contemporary society, the devil majors on three things NOISE, HURRY and CROWDS!”

Before God met with Elijah there was an earthquake, a whirlwind and a raging fire [BUT GOD WASN’T IN THESE!] But after the fire God spoke to Elijah in a whisper! Sometimes our lives are so busy, so crowded and so noisy that we can’t hear the voice of God! It’s then that we need to stop and rest a while. Jesus said ‘come to me all you who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest’. [Mark 11:28] He’ll get no argument from me, so rest time here I come.

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MICRO LIGHT BITES

  1. Kim says:

    Sounds Heavenly, Good advice John… Thanks

Leave a Reply

