THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

PSALMS, PROVERBS AND PARABLES

Psalm 68:9 ‘you sent abundant rain upon the land to refresh it in its weariness’.

At last I’m up and running again! Computers, you can’t live with them and you can’t live without them! I was reading this psalm the other day and this verse stuck out to me. Often times in the Bible, ‘the land can refer to a nation/s, our bodies and as in the parable of the sower, it can refer to the ‘soil of our hearts!’ I get weary and tired of body, mind and soul at times, and if i say so to some Christians I sometimes get the reply’ ‘you need more faith’, or ‘wait on the Lord and he will lift you up’, or ‘don’t speak that out, you aren’t really weary, so just say you’re not!’ I’m sure they mean well, but it really doesn’t help, especially when the reality of it says the opposite because I am weary! I call these words ‘pious platitudes’, ‘Christian cliches’ and ‘silly sermons!’ Sometimes all we need is a little understanding, sympathy and in indication that someone actually cares!

I really don’t know which Bible they read, but mine says Jesus was weary and tired! Now for it to be recorded He either said it or the Disciples saw it? Also, in Psalm 23 David says ‘you restore my soul!’ Well, I reckon if his soul needs to be restored, it must have got tired and weary! The great thing is though that God has an abundance of rain to wash away my tiredness and refresh me out of my weariness! I think in the future I’ll simply keep quiet and just pour out my heart to the Lord. He will care for me and comfort me! He will empathise because He has been there Himself. As for others, I’ll just pretend all is well, it’s not the best thing I know, but at least I won’t have to listen to ‘pat and glib patronisings!

Well, it’s good to be back even if a bit grumpy! Sorry for that but I just needed to get it out the way.

PRAYER heavenly Father. Thank you that I can cast all my cares upon you because you care for me. I gladly do this for I am very weary in body, mind and soul. Refresh and restore me I pray and wash over me with your abundant rain. Thank you for Jesus’ sake. Amen

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

